We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Market Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #7 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Refined, well appointed with first class service. We felt like royalty with the exclusive little living area on our floor and dedicated staff serving up sumptuous breakfast and afternoon refreshments. The staff is impeccably professional and dedicated to attending to guest comfort. Only negative is the price.

Room Tip: we recommend the concierge floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justdme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us and being our guest at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased that we were able to enjoy all the services of our concierge level. I will pass your kind comments to the entire staff as we want to continue to provide on the most professional attention and dedication to all our guest. Thank you once again and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have been visiting Charleston for the past 35 years and have stayed in many different hotels in the area. This hotel was by far the most professionally managed and "polished" of them all. Everyone was top notch from the first welcome by the bellman to the efficient check in and the smiling and accommodating housekeeping staff. The rooms and baths are meticulously clean and well appointed, The continental breakfast available on every floor is brilliant. From only a few steps away you can bring coffee, fruit, and pastries back to your room--no having to dress and eat communally. The hotel is in a very central location, you can walk most anywhere you need to go. Not having to drive and find parking is a big plus. Do yourself a favor and go during Spoleto, the 2 weeks following and encompassing Memorial Day every year. You will have access to the most amazing art, music, jazz, and a myriad of other world-class performances all over the city. It is a wonderfully special time to be in Charleston and it will only be enhanced by staying at the Market Pavilion Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jstuart77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

First, I must say thank you for sharing such kind comments with us. We take pride in providing all our guests with the best possible service and guest experience. It nice to know that you enjoyed your time, music and performances all over the city during Spoleto. I will share your comments with the entire staff. Thank you once again and we look forward to your return to the Market Pavilion Hotel and being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Spent a few nights here seeing the highlights of Charleston in mid-late May.

First things first - spectacular hotel in all respects! Fantastic location - none better for sightseeing as you can walk to everything. Rooftop bar is the best of all in the vicinity (and we hit 'em all) - gorgeous set up with beautiful pool, numerous umbrella tables, and great food. Nice view of the city also. Spent time up there at every opportunity. Popular place throughout the day for very good reason!

Rooms were clean and very well appointed as the whole property is well maintained. Many nice 'extras' like turn down service and complimentary coffee, juice, and pastries on each floor. Professional and helpful staff at every turn. I'm in the travel industry (away from home - unfortunately - over 100 nights per year) and this is one of the highest quality hotels in the hundreds that I've stayed at. We had only one room issue (toilet) that was handled immediately and appropriately by the general manager. He is a hands-on type (frequently seen ensuring all was well with everyone's stay) and oversees all aspects of the hotel.

If we went back to Charleston, there would be no decision to be made - we would stay in the same hotel. Little pricey but you get what you pay for here. Can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tblshkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

First, thank you very much for being our guest. We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. Traveling so much can take a toll and I am very happy that our entire team was able to exceed your expectations to make your visit the very best it could be. I am also pleased that you had the opportunity to spend time at the Pavilion Bar and that you enjoyed the atmosphere and food. I do apologize that you experienced a small issue and very glad it was corrected immediately. We would like to welcome you back again when your travel brings you to Charleston. Thank you again Peter Wright.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Great hotel on all points! Perfect location, happening rooftop bar...bartenders Cheryl, JR and Dave were the Best! Delicious coffee every morning. Hermes bath products! Why plan to stay anyplace else?? An amazing getaway!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BdayKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed the Pavilion Bar, the services delivered by Cheryl, JR and Dave. It’s also great that you liked our coffee each morning. Thank you for sharing your comments and we look forward to providing you once again an amazing getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My wife and I just spent 3 nights at this hotel to relax after a week-long family vacation on Hilton Head Island. Great location, park the car and walk to shopping, restaurants, art shops and historical sights. Efficient check in & out, staff always cheerful and helpful. Room on the 3rd floor was small, but tastefully decorated and quite comfortable. Nice rooftop bar however music a little too loud as it made conversing difficult.

Room Tip: Our 3rd floor room was at the front of the hotel, nice view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

First thank you for spending 3 nights with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed our location to everything Charleston has to offer. It’s also nice to know that you enjoyed the Pavilion Bar high atop the hotel. I apologize if you felt the music was too loud, we do try to control the volume and provide our guest with many seating options away from any music. I do thank you for sharing your comments and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I treated ourselves to the Terrace Suite (incredible!) for our wedding anniversary and it was truly memorable. The location is perfect and the service is outstanding. From the friendly bellmen to the helpful and attentive hotel staff, they made our stay truly enjoyable. The Terrace Suite, if you want to pamper yourself, has all the heavenly amentities - a spacious room, comfy bed, large rain shower, an amazingly huge hot tub and a private balcony. The suite is on the concierge level and the provided a wonderful breakfast every morning, afternoon tea/snacks/delicious cookies and wine in the early evening. The rooftop bar is not to be missed either!

Room Tip: If you want to splurge - choose the Terrace Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for sharing your special wedding anniversary with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. You stayed in one of our perfect luxury suites, the Terrace Suite. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations, the amenities of the concierge level. It’s also nice to know that you enjoyed the Pavilion Bar. Thank you once again for being our guest and sharing your kind comments which I will share with the entire staff. We hope to welcome you back again very soon and no need to wait for an anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel on my birthday trip and we highly enjoyed it! First, it's in a fabulous location. We walked everywhere. Secondly, the rooms were beautiful and the bed was so comfy. And lastly, we loved the rooftop bar. It was a great way to round out our afternoon with a beautiful view (and also a great way to spend our drink vouchers). If you come to Charleston, you want to stay in a hotel that's in walking distance to everything and this fits the bill. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tidegirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

First, Happy Birthday. We are so pleased you decided to join us at the Market Pavilion Hotel for your birthday trip. It is great being in the perfect location to everything and having the best views in the city from our Pavilion Bar. It’s nice to know that you were able to use your food & beverage vouchers provided as an extra benefit for staying with us. Thank you for being our guest and sharing your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,989 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,931 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,310 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £149 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing