We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,Location,Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Market Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed only for one night in August but it was a great expierence. Service was excellent and prompt. We pulled up out front and immediately the bellmen went to work, car was unloaded and luggage was inside on a luggage cart. Very well appointed room, and the bathroom was the icing on the cake. The coffee and pastries on each floor for breakfast in the morning was a really nice touch. Staff was on top of replenishing both items as needed. Was looking to try the Nitrogen Martinis but they only served them at the lobby bar, and we already established at the rooftop bar for the night. Finally the location can't be beat. It is just steps (literally from the marketplace) and, within close walking distance of many restaurants and attractions in the downtown area. Would definately stay again on a return trip to Charleston hopefully for a longer stay.

Room Tip: All of the standard and deluxe rooms are on the 2nd & 3rd floors only. All others are on the con...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel . I am so pleased that you felt it was a great experience and you enjoyed the excellent service. On your next visit to us you must try the Nitrotini at our Grill Bar. Thank you also for the kind recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,436)
There are newer reviews for Market Pavilion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

901 - 907 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

We just spent 4 nights traveling the Carolina's for good food and football. This is my third time to stay at the Market Pavilion and I will not stay anywhere else. The hotel is very classic yet comfortable. The rooms are a good size for the age of the hotel. I love the amenities in the rooms such as the toiletries and plush robes. The service is ALWAYS outstanding and you cannot pick a better location to walk to the best restaurants and shopping. I love the rooftop bar and on my next trip I want to try the restaurant on the main level.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetSetterJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We just spent 4 nights at the Market Pavilion. It met our expectations. Its location is perfect: walking distance to sightseeing,attraction,restaurants. The staff is very attentive and, on the concierge level, Kim and Akshaya make sure our stay was perfect
The roofbar is outstanding and a must go

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mag134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. We are so pleased that it met your expectations and you liked our location and the attention of our staff. I am also happy that you were able to enjoy the Pavilion Bar. I will share your kind comments with Kim and Akshaya which I am sure they will appreciate. Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us. Looking forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Agree this was a beautiful place to spend a late afternoon. We had just finished Harbor Tour and wanted to keep the magnificent view while sipping some refreshments. Service was very good, martinis were cold and perfect, company was friendly, view was spectacular. Price was also spectacular. Beautiful view of Charleston.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Redee2GoGoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the last three nights of a honeymoon trip to the Charleston area. It was SPECTACULAR. From the nitrotinis (liquid nitrogen in your martini! Brilliant!) to the staff to the ambiance, everything is designed for a fresh, relaxing, and luxurious experience. We splurged on the concierge floor where we were offered breakfast, afternoon tea, and a fabulous happy hour every day. I felt like Scarlett O'Hara meets Downton Abbey the whole time I was there. Everyone we encountered was pleasant and helpful, but the concierge who oversaw most of the meals and snacks on our floor was a cut above the rest. His name is Akshaya and he is an absolute star! I see he has been praised in other reviews and it is well deserved. He always greeted us by name and with a ready smile and was quick to accommodate any request, no matter how big or small. He made an already wonderful place even more welcoming. The location of the hotel is in easy walking distance to many of the best restaurants and shops and the most interesting historical spots. I would love to come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

It was a bit overwhelming to choose a hotel for our trip to Charleston. We made reservations at two other hotels and cancelled when we were able to get a room at the Market Pavilion. I am very picky when it comes to hotels and usually find something wrong everywhere we go, but this time I was blown away with our experience. The hotel was beautifully appointed, very clean, EVERY staff member went out of their way to help us. Peter the General Manager approached us to inquire about our stay, and he was most personable. He learned of our car troubles reaching the hotel and sent over a bottle of champagne to our room. The bellmen came to the room in a matter of minutes upon our departure and had already loaded our luggage when the valet brought the car around, literally took less than 15 minutes for all of this after we called to arrange check out. Roof top bar was our favorite part of our entire trip. Highly recommend and plan to stay with them on our next trip. Service just does not get any better than this. Thank you Market Pavilion staff for treating us like royalty!!

Room Tip: If an room on the concierge level is available, the extras make it very well worth the extra cost of...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

First, thank you for being our guest at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased you decided to stay with us after so many choices and we were able to create such a great experience for your vacation. I am also glad you enjoyed the Pavilion Bar high atop the hotel. I will share your kind comments with the team and thank you for taking the time to share them with us. We hope to see you again soon and with little less car trouble the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at the hotel and very much enjoyed our experience. The location, rooms, staff and service were excellent. We stayed on the concierge level and loved the breakfast, afternoon tea, and evening drinks and snacks. Akshaya is an extraordinary concierge on that floor and made us feel welcome and taken care of. Our room was very comfortable and inviting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your 4 night stay and had a wonderful experience. Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us and acknowledging Akshaya, I am sure he will be pleased. I am also glad you enjoyed your room and the service of the entire staff. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,878 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,214 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,066 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,774 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £218 - £492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing