We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Market Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Wadmalaw Island, South Carolina
1 review
“Best Hotel in Charleston”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My wife and I live in the Charleston area and stay somewhere downtown Charleston every year for our anniversary. This was our first stay at the Market Pavilion and by far the best hotel we have visited in Charleston. I don't have a single complaint, the staff is great and the hotel is absolutely beautiful and extremely well kept. The hospitality hostess was genuinely interested in the guest and really went the extra mile to accommodate. She even knew people by name.The food and wine was also great. Be sure to purchase this upgrade. The room makes you want to live there. It is not only clean and beautiful, but the most comfortable bed I have ever experienced. The downstairs bar is great, be sure to try a Nitrotini it's wonderful! Don't forget the incredible rooftop bar and swimming pool with the best views in Charleston. Our stay was a perfect 10, I highly recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: I think they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friendly41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,047
    196
    59
    32
    26
See reviews for
228
715
31
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This was our 4th time staying here. Very helpful staff, from the minute we pulled up and were welcomed"home", to the folks facilitating breakfast , tea and wine on the concierge level.
Beds and pillows are comfortable and any request was immediately responded to.
Another plus is having a very good restaurant in house... Greg, the bartender was wonderful!
We were fortunate to meet and have a drink with Jim Palas, the owner of the property. He built it from the ground up and it was fascinating listening to his stories.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZipNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I dined for Restaraunt week and was blow away by the quality of food and service. Our server, Lila, was on POINT with all aspects of the dinner. Very knowledgable and hospitable. My steak was perfect and the wine she suggested was amazing. Thank you for the experience

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChucktownEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our experience in Charleston was enhanced by the wonderful and gracious service provided by Akshaya. The hotel was very conveniently located by the market and within walking distance of all activities.

Room Tip: 4th floor is the concierge floor with full breakfast in the morning and wine and snacks in the after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ramuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for being our guest and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased you liked our location and the service you received on our concierge level by your host Akshaya. Thank you also for sharing your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We decided to celebrate New Year's Eve in downtown Charleston. Not wanting to drive that night, I booked us a room at this hotel. Our experience got off to a good start from arrival. Quick, efficient, friendly valet/bell services. Easy check-in with courteous, smiling people (you might be surprised how rare that can be). Our room was on the Concierge floor so the parlor was available to us for afternoon tea and for breakfast. The attendants there also did a lot towards making our all-to-short stay quite enjoyable. We went up to the roof-top lounge to relax after dinner. It was as expected boisterous and happy. We shared a table with some folks from GA who were quite pleased with the hotel too. I highly recommend giving it a try if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuzzCzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
As being a local from Charleston, we are very pleased that you decided to stay with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. It is also great that you had the opportunity to stay on our concierge level of the hotel and experience the many amenities which that offers. I am also happy that you were able to enjoy the festivities with some of other guests at the Pavilion Bar and who were pleased with their stay also. Thank you for the recommendation and please feel like this is your second home in Charleston. Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

While traveling back to New Jersey, my friends and I stumbled upon this lovely hotel. It seamless bounds old world charm and southern hospitality with the modern amenities and opulances. You will not be disappointed. Even with a chilly evening, the roof top bar was warm, inviting and fun! It is worth it every penny. I look forward to visiting this hotel and Charleston in warmer times.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dismutase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for sharing such kind comments and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. We are happy that that you and your friends found us and loved the southern hospitality and modern amenities which we offer. I am also glad that you had the opportunity to experience the Pavilion Bar high atop the hotel. We also look forward to your next visit to Charleston and staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Booked an anniversary trip here between Christmas and New Year's Day in 2013. Luckily my husband booked this as I wouldn't normally pay this much to stay in a hotel! Arrived late so we were bumped up to a concierge king room due to overbooking - what a treat!!! On the concierge floor you receive a complimentary hot breakfast, a beautiful display of fruits to choose from and an assortment pastries to die for!! They also offered a light lunch and afternoon tea and evening hors d'oeuvres. We met the most wonderful host (Kim) who seemed to know all the ins and outs of the area. She was very helpful and is truly a gem in this southern crown. The food prepared by Grill 225 was absolutely delicious! I wish we could have eaten in the hotel restaurant as it received great reviews and especially after sampling the food in our hotel floor parlor but we just could not fit in all of our dinning wishes during our 3 day visit.
The building itself is not old but extreme attention and expense were taken to make sure that it feels and looks characteristically true to the era and of what you would expect in a much older hotel. So in my book - that's even better! The rooms and bath were very clean, and well maintained. They even provided robes, slippers, a phone by the toilet (ha) and a complimentary umbrella! The rooftop bar and infinity pool were beautifully done and offered a very inviting atmosphere. I would've loved to have been there for a major holiday to watch fireworks. I understand you must pay a premium in advance for dining spaces during those holidays.
The location was spot on! - next door to the old slave's market and within 2 blocks of the carriage tours. Also plenty of highly rated restaurants within walking distance. Parking is valet only and it did take a while for them to bring our car to us for one of our outings but I truly think that may have been an oversight. Everyone we came in contact with at the hotel seemed to truly desire to enhance our stay. In my opinion this hotel and staff are outstanding - southern hospitality at it's finest!

Room Tip: I imagine any room would be nice but the concierge floor is above and beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We are so pleased that you stayed with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel for your anniversary trip to Charleston. We very much appreciate you taking the time to do such a comprehensive review of the hotel. It’s great that you had the opportunity to experience the concierge level of the hotel and enjoy all of its amenities. I will also share your kind comments with Kim which I am sure she will appreciate. You also had the opportunity to enjoy the food prepared by Grill 225 and also experience the Pavilion Bar high atop the hotel. We would love for you to return for a major holiday as our hotels guest receive preferences for those seating’s. I very much thank you for the recommendation and look forward to your return visit to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,798 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
416 reviews
The Restoration
#6 of 61 in Charleston
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Property: Market Pavilion Hotel
Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing