We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fine time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Market Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #8 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Once again, the bartenders on the roof made our July 4th celebration one to remember. Thanks to Jr., Cheryl, Dave and a new young man, for their great service and professionalism. We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yep-charleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for joining us at the Pavilion Bar high atop the Market Pavilion Hotel for the 4th of July celebration. I will surely pass your kind comments to Jr. Cheryl, Dave and Marc. I am sure they will appreciate the kind words. Looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location perfect for downtown Charleston. The roof top pool was great they could use more lounge chairs though. The free coffee and pastries every morning was an extra bonus. Everyone we came in contact with at the hotel could not be nicer. The roof top bar was awesome the drinks were alright the lobby bar drinks were much better. Looking forward to our next stay here.

Room Tip: We chose the luxury king
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beemags69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for being our guest and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our location and the Pavilion. We are limited with space and cannot add any additional lounge chairs but do our best to accommodate our hotels guests. Also I am pleased you enjoyed the drinks at the Pavilion and Grill Bar. We look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you for sharing your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in room 327 overlooking the US Custom House. The king bedroom was beautiful and immaculate. We experienced great service from hotel staff and enjoyed the atmosphere/views from the rooftop bar. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kalea_h22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for sharing you kind comments and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. You had a great room and I am glad you enjoyed the service and the Pavilion Bar. I am also pleased that you found your room to be beautiful and immaculate. We look forward to you staying with us again on your next visit to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

From the moment of arrival through checkout and departure, this charming Charleston hotel never disappointed. On arriving, we were greeted by bellman, Steven, whose easy demeanor and kind assistance with our car and luggage immediately disarmed that often-awkward arrival vibe. He became our go-to throughout the week, a personal concierge of sorts, always willing to assist, making terrific recommendations for food and activities.

That quality of service and attention to detail was present in many other facets of the hotel as well. Housekeeping was similarly kind and attentive, as was the reception desk, and the General Manager himself who genuinely inquired about the quality of our stay.

Oh..and the hotel itself is impeccably clean, comfortable and quintessentially Charleston. We will be back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your kind comments and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the service to be “amazing” We also very much appreciate you acknowledging Steven which I will share with him and sure that he will appreciate. We look forward to your next visit and thank you once again for sharing your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is one of the best hotels in Charleston! We had requested a king room, but had to reserve a double queen because the kings were sold out, but upon check-in, we were automatically upgraded to a corner king suite! It was beautiful, and the bed was so comfortable... We started with cocktails at the rooftop bar, which had a cool vibe and great views, then later enjoyed a wonderful meal in the hotel's restaurant. We liked our bartender, Marc, so much that we decided to dine at the bar! He was friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. Overall, a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for being our guest and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and accommodations. I am also glad you were able to enjoy the Pavilion Bar and Grill 225. Thank you for acknowledging Marc, which I will share your kind comments with him and I am sure he will appreciate. I am pleased that your stay was Fabulous and look forward to your next visit with us. Thank you posting your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel rocks ... Kamden Huckabee the bartender in the lobby bar is the best . She was so helpful on where to go and what to do in charleston ! The entire staff rocks ! Best place to stay in charleston '

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mstimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed the services of our bartender Kamden at the Grill 225 Bar and all the staff. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is beautiful, perfectly situated and offers charming, Southern-comfort optional amenities, but for us its great draw, after our four-night stay last week, is its people. Every employee we met, not the least the housekeeping staff (in other hotels so often rushed and overtaxed), could not have been more pleasant or accommodating. Special thanks in particular to concierge Kim Kent, who, even before our arrival, served up wise, big-hearted, good-natured, even hilarious advice about where to eat and what to see; Kamden Huckabee, genial genius mixologist at the lobby bar, and Shea Peden, the bellman who greeted us when the taxi spilled us out at curbside and then popped up from time to time to check on us throughout our stay. We didn't feel like guests; we felt as if we were making new friends. If we could, we would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretF0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for posting your kind review and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased that you had such a great time and took the time to acknowledge some of our staff members. We pride yourselves on the level of service provided to all our guest and want to make you feel like this is your second home. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,906 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,241 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,077 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
489 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £200 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing