We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Southern Hotel in Historic District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Market Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Market Pavilion in the Historic District in Charleston on a combination business and getaway trip. The boutique style hotel was very personal and engaging. The hotel was built in 2002 but fits in perfectly with it's surroundings. It is full of quality antiques and artwork. We received personal attention and help with everything we needed. The staff was attentive and personable.
The pastry chef and support staff are amazing. Each morning there was a sideboard of amazing fresh pastries made in house perfectly presented in our hall along with fresh coffee, tea, juices and - only in the south, linen napkins.
The rooms are spacious and while not all rooms have balconies, we were lucky to have one that did. The views from the rooms are overlooking the Market next door or to the harbor where the cruise ship arrives once a week.
The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms well appointed and roomy with a separate bath and shower.
The restaurant in the lobby, Grill 225 was a comfortable yet elegant dining option. They feature circular booths that seat 4-6 for special occasions. Everything we tried was very good and well presented.
I was a newcomer to Charleston and wanted a comfortable hotel within walking distance of restaurants, the Battery, shopping on King Street, and the heart of the city....and an outdoor pool. Our search of the historical district only turned up 3 hotels with pools. The pool is on the rooftop and has wonderful lounges, dining options and a bar with a great view of the city.
We took a chance on this hotel and we more than happy with the Market Pavilion. The market next door is a hub of activity and is open daily. On Friday and Saturday nights the market is open later (from 6-10pm) and features only local artists, and products produced in the area. If you are looking for the handmade sea grass baskets they have quite a selection with the artists making them on location.
Many of the local tours start at the market, the carriage rides and some of the walking tours. The concierge is well versed and has connections with other tour groups as well.
The hotel is pricey $$$ but if you want a feel of the south and plan on spending time at your hotel, this is a great choice. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view and/ or balconies.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart6988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,436)
There are newer reviews for Market Pavilion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

795 - 801 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have to say that this is a great hotel. The attention to detail and the service provided by the doormen, valet, bellmen, housekeeping, room service, front desk, etc. are second to none. The bed and pillows were the best I have ever experienced. The location of the hotel could not be better. The food from room servie was excellent as well and we had both breakfast and dinner.

I have stayed in alot of upscale hotels and this is my best experience with any hotel.

If I had to say anything negative would be the martini prices. While they are EXCELLENT, at $17 each I found that to be too pricey.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for being our guest and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the comfort of the beds and pillow. I very much appreciate the kind comments toward the staff which I will gladly share with them. With reference to your martini, I am glad you found it excellent and can assure you that we do our very best to keep the cost down based upon the type of martini. We look forward to your next visit with us. Thank you for sharing your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

As the hotel is at the corner of East Bay st. and Market st. , there is hardly a better location in Charleston. As you enter it almost looks like you are entering a high class restaurant, which you are as the hotel restaurant is, in fact, great. The hotel is, of course, a lot more. Large rooms with all the amenities, beautiful roof bar with swimming pool. Probably, the best in Charleston. The staff is very professional. All this makes for a very comfortable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AugustoPellegrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The location is perfect, walk to everything. This is a grand old style hotel, but elegant in every way. The roof top pool and bar is a great place to view the surrounding area and enjoy a cool drink. We especially enjoyed our waitress, Jessica, who displayed Southern Hospitality at its best.
The Market Pavilion is definitely on the top of our list for places to stay in Charleston.

Room Tip: king bed great
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bpughe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I recently spent an evening at this hotel on a very enjoyable girls' getaway. The pros:

- Central location
- Conveniently served continental breakfast
- Super comfortable beds
- Nice, spacious bathrooms

The rooftop deck is nice, but the pool is fairly tiny. We were pretty disappointed in the quality of the drinks -- expensive and pretty weak.

I am a pretty low maintenance traveler, but a couple of things soured me on this hotel's customer service, especially considering the service I have received at comparable or more modest hotels. The first was that we requested a late check-out for one of our rooms so one of my travel companions could have quiet space for a business call that, unfortunately, conflicted with the check-out room. Our request was initially denied and we did not get the late check-out as requested without a manager's involvement when one of my friends casually mentioned it.

One of my other travel companions purchased an expensive dress and, much to her distress, forgot to take the shopping bag with her. She called the hotel multiple times in her panic and was repeatedly told she could not be helped until the concierge could deal with the matter. After not receiving a return call particularly quickly she was brusquely informed she should stop calling. The great news is that the dress was ultimately recovered. However, nearly two weeks later, she has not received it. They charged her shipping costs -- which was fine -- but there was a lot of red tape involved.

This hotel was not a perfect match for a group of women in their 30s and early 40s -- it definitely has more appeal for an older clientele. For the money, the Vendue seemed much more interesting and modern. One of my travel companions is now intending to book the Vendue for a friend's 40th birthday party weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyAndVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stay here as often as possible and they never disappoint. We checked in very late (2am) after a family wedding reception. The entire staff was as attentive and professional as they are when you arrive at a normal hour. The room was beautiful and very clean. I love the robe and slippers with turn down service. This is the only hotel where my husband ever wants to stay and we have stayed in most of the other hotels downtown Charleston. We recommended the Market Pavilion every chance we get.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Settingsllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I am a platinum marriott member. After a sleepless night and 1 star customer service at a marriott property near King Street, I called the Market Pavilion and spoke with Grant. I explained my experience the previous night, and he assured me that I would be taken care of if I choose to move to the Market Pavilion. I took the challenge and checked in. From my first interaction with the valet to my departing goodbye, I was treated with phenomenal care. My favorite luxury chain hotels are the Four Seasons and the Ritz Carlton. The service that I received is on par if not superior to those fine establishments. The room was excellent from the comfort of the bed to the beautiful bathrooms. The rooftop pool and bar offer the best views of Charleston and a great retreat to hang out by the pool. Hats off to the staff of the Market Pavilion. You have mastered customer service in a truly elegant hotel. I will be back. You made my trip and gained my loyalty.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank hammerangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for being our guest and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. We are very happy that you decided to make the move and stay with us. As being well traveled and having stayed at the finest hotels in the world, I am very honored by your comments. I am also pleased that you were able to enjoy the Pavilion Bar high atop the hotel. We do look forward to you next visit and thank you for posting your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,876 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,209 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,065 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,772 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £217 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing