We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remembering charleston with a smile” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Market Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Market Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #7 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Remembering charleston with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Y'all certainly got it right..what an enjoyable 6 day stay in your lovely charming hotel. Upon arriving we enjoyed dinner at Grill 225. Outstanding...our server J.B. Was exceptional and we thoroughly enjoyed our delicious dinner, and we appreciate all his efforts in making our dining experience so relaxing and enjoyable for two weary travelers. On to the concierge lounge and. A.J. Was a gem you have here....from warm good morning. To his evening goodnight he went above and beyond to make us feel special and very comfortable and we now have a forever friend. Thanking you for all the great memories. Travelers do not hesitate in booking this location. You will not be disappointed . Close to great shopping and dining too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagspacked05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for being our guest for 6 nights at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I am pleased that you will have great memories and felt that service was above and beyond. I appreciate the acknowledgement of JB your server at Grill 225 and AJ your attendant at the Concierge Lounge. We also thank you for the recommendation and look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,001
    184
    57
    29
    26
See reviews for
215
685
28
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

PROS:

Location: You can't beat it. It's situated right next to the city market and one block away from highly-recommended restaurants High Cotton, Slightly North of Broad, and Magnolias. The restaurants on King Street are a little bit farther, so we decided to take a rickshaw. It cost $10-15 one way, but it's a fun experience, and the driver will take you through some back streets which are gorgeous.

Rooftop bar: We had a few drinks there in the afternoon and it has a beautiful view. There's a teeny tiny pool but nobody was swimming on this sweltering August day. I think it might be uncomfortable for someone in a bikini to feel ogled by people at the bar. The next night we went at around 11:00 pm and it had a completely different, "Vegas"-like feel, complete with flashing lights and a deejay.

Rooms: I'm not sure why some reviewers call the furnishings "dated." It's a relatively new hotel, so I think the better description would be classically decorated to go with the old-town Charleston feel. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. We came home late one night to see that housekeeping provided turn-down service, which we didn't request. It was a nice surprise.

Room 226: We stayed in Room 226, which overlooked the U.S. Customs House and was one of the few rooms that had a little balcony. Check out our picture from our hotel room.

CONS:

No refrigerator: We couldn't store our delicious leftovers from 82 Queen.

Overrated nitrotinis: I'm sure you're heard about these offered in the lobby bar. They are made from liquid nitrogen, and it comes with a warning label not to ingest too quickly. The presentation is fun and as you can see from my picture, it provided a fun great photo opp. But as soon as the smoke clears..... enh. Not worth the $17.

As you can tell, the good things about this fine hotel far outweigh the bad. I highly recommend this place. It didn't disappoint.

Room Tip: Room 226 gave the perfect view of the U.S. Customs House. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Murr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel and writing a comprehensive review. We appreciate that you enjoyed the location being in the Historic District of Charleston and in the middle of everything from shopping to dining and activities. I am glad you had the opportunity to experience the Pavilion Bar during the day and weekend evening to enjoy the music and dancing if you wished. I also appreciate your description of the rooms which are decorated for the Antebellum Stay and we still are the newest luxury hotel built in Charleston. I am glad you enjoyed the view from your room. As for the refrigerator, we would have been happy to provide you with one in your room if needed so I apologize that you were not aware of this. As being a luxury hotel, we do have a signature cocktail our Nitrotinis, which is a bit more thank smoke, we do like that the nitrogen brings your cocktail to the perfect temperature. We would have been happy to exchange your for another which you may have like better. We do very much appreciate the kind comments and hope have you back once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I've lived in Charleston for ten years and have always heard incredible things about Market Pavilion Hotel. My husband and I decided to have a vacation in our own city and hoped this hotel could help us feel relaxed and away from the hustle and bustle of our lives. Market Pavilion Hotel did all that and more. From the moment the sweet doorman tipped his top hat at us as we walked in, until it was time get in the car to leave we felt special. From the luxurious rooms, to the delicious pastries and coffee waiting for you in the morning, they were very thorough in offering the best of everything. Add in their incredible location in downtown Charleston and it is exactly the place you'd want to have a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for being our guest and sharing your kind comments with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. We are so pleased we could make your vacation a memorable experience and that we provided you the opportunity to relax. We hope to have you stay with us in the near future and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great stay at Market Pavilion hotel for a weekend. The hotel staff was friendly, check-in and out was super fast. The rooftop pool/bar was a great way to unwind in the evenings, although the night-time scene was a little much - but probably a fun time had I been in the mood for some dancing and drinking. The $50 daily voucher for food and drink was a sweet little deal as well. The valet guys and door staff were super nice too. Nothing about the stay was bad... definitely recommend this hotel. Location is great too. Oh. but be sure to get a room that faces the street, not the parking garage. We had a corner room with a balcony facing the open market -- perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoChik77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for the recommendation and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel in a balcony room. I am pleased we could provide you with a wonderful stay and that you were able to use and enjoy your $50.00 food and beverage voucher. I will share your kind comments with the entire staff and appreciate you taking the time to share them. We hope to have you stay with us again and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Nice enough room (luxury king) and friendly staff, but have a few problems. First, no in room coffee. And no coffee in lobby until 7 am. At 5 am, I went out to street to smoke a cigarette. No place to sit and didn't feel particularly safe since there was no one in the hotel lobby. No staff anywhere ! Finally around 6, there was someone at front desk who offered to bring me a (small) pot of coffee. Will probably charge me 10 bucks or more though. Crazy. If you aren't going to offer in room coffee then have it in the lobby! And not every one wants to go to the lobby for coffee! I don't see why at these prices they cant offer in room coffeemaker. Cheaper to put a pot in the lobby! And offer a bench or something to sit on. And if you don't want butts on the sidewalk then put an ashtray out front and I'd use it. Couldve stayed at a nice hotel for less money with more to offer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 432christinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
First allow me to thank you for staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. I apologize that you feel that the hotel is overpriced based upon what you had paid. We still are one of the best values for luxury in Charleston. As being a luxury hotel, we do provide options for our guests and also provide commentary coffee service from 7am-5pm daily on each floor. Which I am sure you passed to get on or off the elevator. As for your coffee service, not sure where you got $10.00 from but you are aware of what were charged. We are smoke free hotel but you are able to go to the Pavilion and smoke using an ashtray so no need to stand in front of the hotel to smoke. We are based in the Historic district of Charleston and regulated by city and cannot have anything on the sidewalk. I hope that in the future you are able to find another hotel or brand which would better fit your budget needs. Thank you for sharing your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I visited The Market Pavillion for our anniversary. It was beautifully decorated and a great spot. The staff was very professional and attentive to all of your needs. The room were spacious! The beds were very comfortable. The staff was top notch! The rooftop bar and pool was spectacular. There were a lot of special little touches that made this hotel stand above the rest.

Room Tip: Spectacular rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teejay229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for being our guest and staying with us at the Market Pavilion Hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed the special little touches and the service of the entire team. We also appreciate you taking the time to write your review and thank you for the kind comments. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My experience at the pavilion rooftop bar was one of a kind. I was not staying at the hotel but had stopped in for a night of drinks and appetizers with the girls. We received exceptional service from the bartenders Cheryl and JR, who were extremely attentive and served us quite fast. We also enjoyed the Quattro Formaggio Pizza which was a perfect compliment to our martinis. In addition to the quality service, we got to enjoy a beautiful sunset and the best view of Charleston. It was a perfect evening.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MLH715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at Market Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank for the kind words and for joining us at the Pavilion Bar at the Market Pavilion Hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed the pizza and martinis. I will also pass your acknowledgment to JR and Cheryl which I am sure they will appreciate. We look forward to your next visit with us for that perfect evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,992 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Pavilion Hotel

Property: Market Pavilion Hotel
Address: 225 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Market Pavilion Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Market Pavilion Hotel, Charleston's most luxurious hotel. A proud member of the Leading Hotels of the World. Located in the epicenter of Downtown, we're just minutes from the waterfront, tour guides, shopping and grand old homes. Set among some of Charleston's most historical landmarks, the Market Pavilion Hotel offers the most decadent guest rooms in the city and countless amenities such as Grill 225, a member of the Great Steakhouses of North America, and Charleston's most popular night spot, the Pavilion Bar, which boasts the best view in the city. Most importantly, we're redefining the Art of Southern Hospitality. So whether you join us for a leisurely getaway or company meeting, to pop the question or seal the deal, you'll indulge in The Market Pavilion Hotel's premium value and service. Welcome to the Art of Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Market Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Pavilion Charleston
Hotel Market Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing