We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty.”
Review of Gateway Walk

Gateway Walk
Charleston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty.”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Small but very pretty area to walk through if you're in the downtown area. We found this on tripadvisor on our own and again with a guided tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bgsg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guamuchil, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful, historical, gardens, benches”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I found this on tripadvisor and glad I did! First of all this place to FREE to see- you can't beat that. The graves are not all readable- but it adds to the experience. The gardens are peaceful and soothing. There are even benches to rest on- although the mosquitoes are bad so you may not want to sit too long! The gates were unlocked when we went- we had no problem finding this place. I think it's worth your time to visit here. It is somewhat overgrown in parts, but I think this makes it more interesting. There are graves dating back to the early 1700's and a few modern ones, that are dated 1995.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank erinwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
1,073 reviews
311 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“GONE TO SEED”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We found this attraction on TripAdvisor. The address was easy to find. Several gates on three sides were open.

The cemetery, as advertised, is over grown with trees, flowers and weeds. However, the mood is excellent. Many headstones tell stories that are much more than born and died. Many are covered with growth. Several are against the foundation of modern buildings. There are Civil War fallen buried there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Chuck8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehi, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Cool old graveyard”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We were a little confused what this site was but a fun old graveyard with headstone dating back to the 1700's

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaquelRusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Another awesome free way to explore Charleston”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Thanks to the previous reviewers for all the info and for the walking tour map. We printed out the map and did the Gateway Walk. As mentioned previously, some of the gates were locked or no longer accessible, so keep that in mind. You will just have to walk around the sides of the buildings on the street instead. While there were some barriers to us doing the walk as it was intended, I would definitely recommend it to others. It's a nice way to explore the historic churches and grave markers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank southerngirl745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gateway Walk also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Gateway Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing