We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Notso Hostel - a home in the midst of a tourist city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charleston's NotSo Hostel
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Notso Hostel - a home in the midst of a tourist city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Notso Hostel Annex provided a home away from home. It is located just a couple of blocks from King Street's top restaurants and bars, the Visitor's Center, the free trolly transportation, the Charleston Museum, and more. It's proximity allows one to stop back late afternoon, refresh oneself, and share wine, appetizers, and stories before going back out into the tourism catch all. The kitchen is open 24/7 if one wants to cook a night "at home." Hostel living is special...more do it yourself than Hotel living. That's what makes it special. The staff is available "always," on the premises or via text or phone call. The Annex is a big bang for the bucks, and will be a favorite spot to which I will return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are closer to the shared bathrooms. Heat rises, so the rooms on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    144
    46
    51
    27
See reviews for
16
102
184
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hostel was clean and comfortable. I recommend staying at the NotSo hostel, hands down! It was close by to the downtown. The staff were very friendly and there was lots of travel information provided at the hostel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

A great way to spend a few days enjoying the attractions Charleston offers without out paying too much. Very close to the nightlife and shopping Charleston offers on its famous King Street. This hostel felt like home and the owner was very kind and helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit the city for a few days on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The website for this hostel makes it sound like they are hostel experts and run a tight ship, and maybe that was true at some point but I think those days have passed. I was disappointed by how dirty it was and by how inhospitable that staff were. Our room, the Aimee room, had not been swept under the bed for probably months, and there were coffee cup rings all over the various surfaces in the room; surfaces do not get wiped down even when there is an obvious need. They must do an incredibly superficial clean between guests. We took to cleaning our own room when we arrived. The bathrooms downstairs also leave much to be desired: again very superficially cleaned with grime and dirt taking over the baseboards and corners. The staff have a very strange schedule where they are only around in the early morning and evening. They were minimally helpful. Good things about this place include access to a full kitchen and the porches are nice for relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieAndMarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay or the cleanliness of your room. We do clean between guests and at the time that you were staying, we were training a new cleaner and transitioning our old one out. We have since deep cleaned the baseboards and scrubbed the bathroom doors, showers and floors regularly. We hope that you'll come and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was our first time staying in a hostel, but we had a lovely time and when we left the city 48 hours later, this place felt like home. We saved plenty of traveling money and Not So Hostel put us in close proximity to all of Charleston that we had time to take in. Nicole at the front desk was as friendly and accommodating as we could ask for, and she got us oriented to the facility and city. We had a private room the first night and camped in yard space on the second, (so have no experience of the dorm rooms). Parking is snug but off the street. And accessibility to the city? You can walk or bike to whatever you want to take in in in the historic district, including great restaurants, historic sites and the Cathedral Church of St. Paul & St. Luke. And if you're fortunate enough to have a friend living in the district, you can walk to her apartment. Make sure to enjoy the front porches.

Room Tip: Book early but call even if the online scheduler shows no rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulE636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

For the price, you absolutely can't beat this place. It's biking distance to downtown, breakfast is included, and free parking!

I will say however, that the main house is not for the germaphobe. It's not sparkling clean and there's some places that could really use some deep cleaning.

We stayed in the Carissa room. It's upstairs in the main house, right next to the porch. There were a few times that the bathroom was occupied during our 4 day stay bad people were pretty open about not wearing bras in the common areas and going up to their room in just a towel from the bathroom.

Having said all of that, we would def stay again. Next time we would try the apartment in the annex after reading how clean the annex was, (and we would like the extra privacy for a few bucks more.) But a great stay nonetheless. Thanks Notso hostel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amberlygaillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I've been to a few hostels in my day and NotSo in Charleston places itself amongst the top. From a great staff, to the cozy and clean rooms, and of course the location- you cant go wrong here. When I showed up I knew right away I had made a good decision after Vikki welcomed me in like a long lost family member who had been away.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#26 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston's NotSo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston's NotSo Hostel

Property: Charleston's NotSo Hostel
Address: 156 Spring St, Charleston, SC 29403-5220
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in lovely and historic downtown Charleston, the Notso Hostel provides safe, clean and simple accommodations. We offer camping, dorms, privates and more. Guests have access to kitchens, porches and common rooms with Internet and WIFI. Breakfast is included as are linens and parking. Come and have breakfast with travelers from all over the world and explore this beautiful Earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Charleston's NotSo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston`s Notso Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing