We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FRESH”

Co Banh Mi Noodles Bar
Ranked #156 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In Vietnamese, "CO" is the word for "feast". Located on King Street in Historic Charleston, South Carolina, we offer an authentic Vietnamese cuisine destination, serving bahn mi, pho, ramen and, of course, our own signature cocktails. Our fresh and modern space is open seven days a week for lunch, dinner, and drinks.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“FRESH”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

this is by far our favorite stop in downtown! we have lived here for just over 6 weeks and have eaten here 4 times! (if you find something this good, why go anywhere else?!?)
chic decor, bar seating, tall boy tables and "community tables" are available.
Fresh fresh food, great service, wonderful adult beverages.
we have brought all of our guests here and they also have all loved it.
drunken noodles, curry laksa, ANY of the pho dishes, The pork ginger dumplings are awesome as are the summer/spring rolls. Josh and his crew do it right (thank you Bradling and Sam).
also you can choose to dine outside on second sundays.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kpit70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Co Banh Mi Noodles Bar, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback! It's so great that CO has been a frequent dining destination for you after moving to the great city of Charleston. Can't wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    74
    17
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
468 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Asian Terrific!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The other day, a couple of us stopped by for an early dinner since we were already on King Street - with more restaurants than you can count - and since we both love Asian, particularly Vietnamese, food and since this place is so highly rated out of the hundreds of Charleston restaurants. We were not disappointed. The restaurant itself is in a narrow old reworked building, with a drink/food bar up front, a few tables farther back, including one kind of communal table that we've found elsewhere in Charleston, and more tables upstairs, which opens at 5pm. We sat at the long table downstairs, and a few people eventually joined us. It's nice to be sociable, particularly in an energetic town like Charleston. It was Happy Hour and a few small dishes, plus some drinks, were very reasonably priced. I had a big carafe of sake which was served cold - perfect. Service, by the bartender and a couple of other of the wait staff was excellent. We had four small dishes, including some spring rolls, gyoza, bahn mi and outstanding wings (photos). All real, real good, spicy but not too hot. Instead, you can splash on some of their special hot sauces and burn yourself to a crisp on your own. Wonderful stuff. I also saw on the menu a pho ga (or ga pho) - traditional Vietnamese chicken noodle soup - plus some other extremely attractive items, so there's no question that, the next time in Charleston, we'll be back... and will probably eat upstairs, where it's less busy and lighter.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Co Banh Mi Noodles Bar, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We're so glad you stopped by on your recent visit and enjoyed everything. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and share your pictures! We're open for lunch (as is the upstairs area) so come see us anytime. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sullivan's Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
298 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very good Vietnamese/Thai cuisine”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

It would be easy to walk by the small frontage of this restaurant on lower King Street or to wander in to the neighboring all-Thai place, but be careful and look for Co. We've been there several times and had consistently good experiences. Whether sitting at the bar or at one of the community tables, we've had excellent service. Their website emphasizes the Vietnamese cuisine (Co means "feast" in Vietnamese), but there are some quite good Thai dishes on the menu as well, such as Pad Thai and Thai Green Curry. I like to mix it up and have found the Pho to be tasty as well. The Papaya Salad with Shrimp is super. They also have a generous Happy Hour selection of $5 apps and various drinks, which can be very filling at a bargain price. Don't pass up the house sauces in the bottles on each table, one hotter than the other but both a very nice complement to the food. All in all, Co is a very good choice for Southeast Asian food when in downtown Charleston.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mavmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Co Banh Mi Noodles Bar, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thanks for dining with us and taking the time to write a review. We're thrilled that you've enjoyed all your visits and look forward to your next one. We've recently launched some new fall dishes that we think you'll enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great choice in Charleston”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Went for dinner our one night in Charleston. Really enjoyed the food & the general vibe. Service was lacking at the bar. The female bartender seemed very unhappy to be there & was unfriendly. She forgot to put in an order of dumplings. When I mentioned to the other bartender, he asked if we wanted them still or to take off bill. No apologies. We would go back, but maybe they need to hire friendlier bar staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 684MariaS684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Co Banh Mi Noodles Bar, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thanks for your feedback! We are so sorry that your service during your visit wasn't up to par. Your comments will definitely be taken into consideration and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

My girl wanted to try something different when we visited Charleston! We came across this restaurant by mistakes and she loved how it looks. I was skeptical but it's really great! Prices are ok and u have variety! Service was good too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch_dnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Co Banh Mi Noodles Bar, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Hi, Mitch. Thanks for the review! We're so happy that you and your girlfriend decided to make Co one of your dining destinations in Charleston. It sounds like you guys had a great meal and experience, which is awesome. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Co Banh Mi Noodles Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Co Banh Mi Noodles Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing