We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking location for a history lesson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Middleton Place
Ranked #27 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mickleham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Breathtaking location for a history lesson”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I'd highly recommend this hotel for its magnificent setting, and would urge visitors not to shy away from the tours included in the price and offering glimpses into what life was like on a plantation, however moving and haunting this experience proves.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    329
    138
    74
    37
See reviews for
253
881
31
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We are very happy we stayed, since it allowed us to experience sunset and the very early morning on the grounds of Middleton Place plantation. With the beautiful gardens, birds, alligators and turtles, this was a truly magical experience. We also had lunch at the restaurant at the plantation and enjoyed it. The Inn itself was OK but not quite what we were expecting - definitely very rustic. It looked like maybe it was in architectural digest in the 1970s and hasn't been updated since, very "modern" but not in a contemporary way, and not necessarily a fit with the historic plantation. I agree with others who describe the "camp-like" atmosphere - the rooms are in many buildings scattered over a very large area (you can walk, but many would be tempted to drive from one to another because it's very spread out). Unlike the plantation gardens, the grounds are very "natural", which is fine but it's a bit dark and gloomy under all the trees. We had to go to another building for breakfast, which was very basic, and to yet a third for the evening "reception" (free drinks and nibbles, a nice touch, but the wine was kool-aid and the appetizers were not that appetizing). The inn office is in a tiny building of its own out at the entrance, so quite a way to go if you need anything. Our room was all concrete with wooden shutters, huge bathtub but also a bit "rustic" and oddly shaped, shallow & wide like a paddle pool. The room was also a bit dark at night and didn't have good window coverings for all the windows, so we woke with the dawn. Ultimately it was worth it for the experience, but it wouldn't be the place I'd want to spend my honeymoon. (oh, and supposedly it has a pool, but we never found it, so maybe more of an orientation would be helpful for guests).

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room in the "main" building that at least has the lounge in it. You will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cantravnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I have stayed at Middleton Place several times and have stayed in almost all the buildings. I can't say one bad thing about the Inn. It's remotely located so it seems at times like you're the only ones there, they have hammocks that you can lay in and read a book or enjoy the view of the river, you can take a stroll through the gardens and even eat dinner at the Middleton restaurant after enjoying the delightful evening wine and hors d'oeuvres and the breakfast setting is just as relaxing and fantastic. We could sit by the fire and drink wine or soak in the enormous garden tub. It was fabulous!!! And the staff were wonderful and very kind, sincere and helpful!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cos Cob, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I won't repeat the recent accurate reviews of the Inn just would like to add that we thought our stay was worth the unpleasantness of the room, the poorly tended grounds (Inn not Middleton) and the total absence of staff to help with luggage or anything else because we loved being able to walk through the grounds of Middleton Place in the evening and early in the morning. The beautiful birds; great blue heron, ibis, egrets, would be worth the price of the room. The management should get busy and restore this place to its rightful condition. It could be magnificent but at present this is not a luxury hotel, more like camp and definitely not suitable for anyone who is unsteady of foot, has difficulty with stairs or needs help with luggage. I enjoyed breakfast in the Lake House: charming lady greeted us, so- so food but interesting view out to the creek and the lazing alligators. Also appreciated the faxed copy of the New York Times. Wouldn't go back but was glad we'd stayed the one night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
I sincerely appreciate your title guest, as you are 100% correct on The Inn at Middleton Place not being a luxurious property and you make many wonderful points. Thank you. Every room rate at The Inn includes your admission to Middleton Place, the oldest landscaped gardens left in America. The Inn, however, is meant not to be landscaped yet built and maintained to settle into its environment. Fig and Ivy covered buildings, dirt roads and paths and natural plantings are who we are, not who we are trying to change. We do not have elevators nor do we require them, and staff is always available with a smile to help with luggage, or show you to a different room if the stairs are too much. Room rates also include your Healthy Start Breakfast and evening reception where you have a chance to interact with other guests and staff. Upgrades and updates are done regularly and I hope any potential guests will contact me personally if there is any concern on an upcoming stay. Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This inn, being the only one withing miles of the plantation was close to an only option for us for a family wedding at the home. Waaaay overpriced as the rates change drastically from weekday to weekend (like $100 plus). Asked for early check in since check in time is 4pm and the rehersal was at 5. Arrived at 2, room not ready until 3:30, staff was rude. The rest of the wedding group, that arrived after us were given rooms because rooms were pre assigned and there was no changing them. All the rooms are the same so it's not like they were upgraded rooms just no flexability in the management. Finally given a room we drove over a roughly maintained, narrow dirt road into what I can only describe as what looked like a mentay aselym from the 60's. Concrete buildings, split into I think 3 different "pods." We had a walkin unit while other, older memebers from our group that had difficulty walking were given third story units that were completely inaccesable since there in no elevator. Another scramble for the management to find rooms for at least 3 groups. Once in the room it reminded me of our crawlspace. Cement walls and old wooden floors covered in sand from the pathways outside. Very dark. Bathroom was terrible, barely any light. Weird toilet. disgusting bathtub with a showerhead I had to duck to get underneath (I'm 5'6")

Property is beautiful but they do not offer any incentive for the bride and groom and do not bend in any direction. Our entire group was spread out throughout the property instead of being grouped into one "pod," Very limited parking also.

Room Tip: If you have any trouble climbing stairs make sure to ask for a walk in unit as their ground floor un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeanroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
I am sure it is difficult for guests that attend a destination wedding to always agree with the choice of accommodations made by the bride or grooms family. We here at Middleton understand that this location is not for everyone and I am assured my staff did everything in its power to accommodate this guest needs. The request for early check in was granted as quickly as we could without an additional cost. Rooms are assessable by stairs to the second or third floors and staff is always available to help with luggage as needed. I am truly sorry that this guest did not enjoy their stay, but would gladly invite my family and friends to this valued “crawl space” any day. As always, I may be reached with any questions or comments from past or potential guests. Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Rustic and beautiful everywhere. The Ashley River is a stones throw and the dirt and gravel paths around the Inn and Middleton Place are short, scenic wonders. The exterior of the rooms are stunning modern architecture monoliths tucked into the woods and really get you excited about staying here. The interiors...meh. The walls of giant square windows seem like a great idea, but only if the seals hold. Our room had over half the windows covered in white film and unusable to view the surroundings. The rest of the room is white concrete and only two tiny windows that open, no other way to get fresh air into the very musty smelling rooms.

The bathroom was spacious, but the shower and tub looked worn. Yes they used black grout with white tile, and makes the tub look dirty. The shower head was pulling away from the wall and the water pressure was so so. The toilet is weird. wide and really low to the ground. There's a a mini fridge to use, but it's old and worn as well. There was a TV with limited cable. The TV was so small it was unusable for when we just wanted to rest from walking all over Charleston.

Breakfast at the Lakehouse was mediocre and expensive for the quality of food. I mean, with all the plantations and food sources around, you couldn't use a better grade of eggs? Bacon was great though. Potatoes were hard and unseasoned. The Picnic Basket was nice, but the sandwich was on par with a good Subway sandwich. We did get champagne with it though.

Hope you like lawn mower wake up calls if you plan on sleeping in. I realize you have to lots of lawn to mow, but the cacophony of mowers and chain saws at 9am sucked on a weekday morning.

Everyone was very nice and helpful if we needed it though. We like to skip turn down service and every time we were greeted at our front door with turn down service in a bag as a just in case. Very nice extra.

Middleton Place was wonderful and beautiful. Skip the house tour though. Unless you like being leered at like you're going to steal something or want to hear old ladies stop the tour if they don't see you paying attention to the boring lectures. The house isn't the original (it burned down due to "marauding northern troops" and it's been modernized. It's just boring. The rest of the Place is fantastic though.

All in all it was a good trip, but there's glaring issues the Inn needs to deal with.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer rooms or (the ones closer to the lodge). The older buildings have window films and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

“Spent last week here and we're a bit mixed on it. We don't regret our stay and it was very comfortable, but not quite what we expected. Accommodations are a little more rustic than the pics make it look. Fireplace, eurobath, marble, and other upscale design concepts - it's all there, but seemingly constructed by the lowest bidder with poor finishing skills. HVAC and minifridge worked but noisy. Minimal pwr plugins and storage space. Felt more like a rustic cabin than a luxury room; not necessarily a bad thing, just not what we were expecting.

Counterbalancing the negative above: comfortable bed, clean, amazing grounds (Middleton Place gardens!). Good location (20-30 minutes to the city or beach but far enough out to be in the lush and quiet country). Staff felt like friends. Lots of nice little extras - free run of the gardens (visitors pay $25 for the privilege just to tour it), nightly drinks and snacks at the lodge, standard continental breakfast but higher quality.

There are far nicer accommodations for $150 a night but few are more peaceful or in as beautiful a place, at any price. We're glad we spent our time there but probably wouldn't go back unless the rooms were refurbished.”

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling-Chowhounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
939 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,760 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 62 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Property: Inn at Middleton Place
Address: 4290 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414-7200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing