We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Middleton Place
Ranked #27 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This place is wonderful. The food at the restaurant is as good as anything you would get at a very expensive one, for a price much less . The staff is wonderful and the 5 to7 pm time at the lodge is a wonderful time to meet others. I can not say enough about the grounds and the information given by the staff. The rooms are clean and pleasantly rustic. If you want a retreat from all the hype this is the place to go to unwind and enjoy yourself.than

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,405)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Middleton Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

977 - 983 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

We staid for 3 nights at the Inn at Middleton Place. It is set in a wonderful landscape along the Ashley River. The architecture is quite stark and beautiful if you like that sort of thing. If you do not like concrete it can be grating. I loved it. The bedrooms were on the small side. We stayed in a twin room with small single, wobbly beds. Each room has a fireplace, wood being provided, only you will smell of wood fire for days. Could not see the point of the huge, uncomfortable bathtub. That is enough of the not so good bits. The good bits outweigh by far. The setting, try to get an upstairs bedroom, better view. The breakfast is very good, again in a stunning setting overlooking a pond. Every evening from 5 to 7 pm you can go to the "lodge" to have free drinks and snacks as many as you like. You can talk to fellow travellers. Included in the price is the entrance fee for Middleton Place.

Room Tip: Upstairs for the view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jochenulrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Loved our stay here. Middleton Place was a beautiful Southern Plantation with wonderful rooms along the Ashley River. The Staff is very friendly and I love touring the Plantation and grounds. Breakfast is so nice and the happy hour was enjoyable also. Was wonderful quiet place away from downtown Charleston but easy to get to. We were here over Easter and Loved the Easter Egg Hunt for our Grandsons!

Room Tip: We took a room on the ground floor because we brought our bikes.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindamatt56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was a wonderful, tucked away, little romantic spot! We enjoyed the beautiful views of the Ashley river, and the gardens and tours on the actual plantation. All of the staff is very friendly and accommodating, and there is a lot to do! One of the staff, Nate, was super great. We met him at the managers reception the first night we were there, and he made us feel very welcome and at home, and told us where things were and the easiest way to get to and from. We loved our stay here, and didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: You have the choice to choose between and River view and Woods view room. We had the woods view, it...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCrafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We enjoyed great stay here. Grounds and amenities wonderful. No reAl television but we didn't care! The free visit to the plantation and gardens was both interesting and so worthwhile. Close enough to drive to downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I choose this Inn based on Tripadvisor reviews and I am so thankful I did. Middleton Place is without a doubt one of the top 10 places I have stayed. From start to finish, we had a most enjoyable time. The rooms are amazing with the wood floors and walls. Wood burning fireplace was a hit on the chilly evenings. Passed to tour the Middleton Place Plantation were a wonderful bonus as was the complementary breakfasts and evening wine and beer at the Lodge. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: We liked staying on the top floor with a filtered view of the Ashley River.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelwitch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I went in October for 3 days and this Inn is amazing!! Its about 15 minutes from Charleston and you literally step back in time. In your stay, admission to the Middleton Plantation is included. There is also a very good breakfast and a nightly reception of beer, wine, and wonderful cheeses that in also included. The rooms are very clean and neat with a "tree house " feel due to the floor to ceiling windows with views overlooking the Ashley River....The plantation gardens are beyond description and you literally spend a full day just walking through all of the gardens. You can arrange to take a horseback around the plantation with the stable, which was my favorite part of my stay. The staff was always asking if we were in need of anything and very helpful when needed. I approached a staff member, Nate, asking about a particular cheese that I had really enjoyed during the afternoon receptions. Nate said he would ask and find out where I could buy it. That afternoon during the reception the server gave me a bag that contained a nice take home sample of the cheese that I loved and all the info I needed to purchase it when I got back home. Thanks Middleton Inn, what a great stay and much needed get away from the noise of everyday life!!

Room Tip: Get a room on higher floor for best views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tennesseegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
967 reviews
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Address: 4290 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414-7200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £126 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing