We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm, inviting, well-located” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Middleton Place

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Inn at Middleton Place
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“warm, inviting, well-located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

When closed, cedar shutters on the floor to ceiling windows offer a warm, inviting glow to the room, especially when there's a fire flickering in the fireplace. And when they are open, the room floods with light and you are treated to a beautiful view of the woods and river. The style of the rooms makes you happy to stay indoors, but be sure you venture out long enough to enjoy a late afternoon glass of wine and snacks in the equally inviting lodge living room. I loved walking "next door" to Middleton Place and spent hours enjoying guided tours and the camelias, azaleas and cypress swamp...plus a lovely restaurant. If you can afford the rather steep prices (but probably no worse than most of the Charleston area), the Inn is a great place to spend a few leisurely days.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowa_is_my_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper/MI, General Manager at Inn at Middleton Place, responded to this review, 21 June 2010
What a wonderfully written description of your stay! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and comments with us! Room rates are dependent on the seasons and do include a healthy start breakfast, evening managers reception as well as admission to Middleton Place, a $35 value, per person, per day. It sounds like you made the most of your stay and thoroughly enjoyed the property! I hope you come back to visit us again. All my best, Abigail M. Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    305
    121
    66
    36
See reviews for
233
818
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

The Inn at Middleton Place is set in such a relaxing atmosphere. Can't complain about one thing. The staff is so helpful and friendly. The meals were terrific. The Garden and Museum Tour were an added benefit. Can't wait to go back again. The accomodations were so nice, we stayed in the River Room which overlooked the Ashley River. Would definately recommend this Inn.

Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank fiberaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

I booked the stay as a surprise for my husband's 65th birthday. It was a surprise for both of us--more than I could have expected.

The Inn is very peaceful. The rooms are very large and we overlooked the Ashely River with floor to ceiling windows. The fireplace made the room so warm and inviting. The grounds reminded me of a camp ground--very upscale compared to my girl scout days!

We walked to the plantation and enjoyed three days on the grounds. The dinner at the restaurant was outstanding and breakfast each day more than expected.

Most of all the staff. They were very caring especially as one of our party had some medical issues. Their concern and professionalism made us feel very valued. Lisa even called to find out how everyone was doing.

We will return and recommend this wonderful hidden treasure to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesbeach17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

My husband and I booked the Winter Get Away Weekend and were, overall, very happy with our trip. The grounds at Middleton Place are absolutely unparalleled and would be the real reason to return.
We did not read many reviews before we booked but definitely agree with the following:
pack your own pillows, be prepared for a less-than-deluxe bed, be o.k. with the room smelling like wood smoke.
As I said, we ended up really enjoying ourselves but one big hurdle for us as 'Inn guests' was that there seems to really be a disconnect between the historic grounds and the Inn. There were multiple times when we were embarrassed because we didn't get important information from staff like: where NOT to drive- there are really poorly labeled 'roads' if any at all. Our first day there we were trying to find the restaurant for lunch and we took the only road that was open to it (because a gate was down in front of what we later found out was the right road). It turns out that your not supposed to drive on the road we were on and we had NO idea- a girl who works there chased us down and harshly told us that we shouldn't do that again. When we apologized and said we didn't know where to go she said 'yeah, the gate is broken'. Ok- WEIRD!
We were also surprised at the reactions we would get from the historic side staff when we explained we were staying at the inn- it was usually something like "Really?" It was an odd vibe. I highly recommend that they start giving Inn folks something better than a sticker (like a tag on a lanyard) to get them in to everything for the whole trip. My sticker lost it's stick after the first 1/2 of the first day and I was then quizzed multiple times by grounds staff before I hiked to the garden's ticket booth to ask for another.
We loved the grounds so much that we would totally go again- especially now that we know where not to drive!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerOne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

We selected the Inn from the internet adds as well as looking at the reviews so some of the things I was aware of beforehand. The Middleton Inn is off the beaten path but not too far from the city. The directions they give on their site are pretty good and it was fairly easy to find. Warning-at night it is very, very dark on the main road so be careful coming back at night not too miss your turn, signs could be better.
You wind down a dirt road, past the horses to get to the welcome center. All the staff seemed very friendly and helpful. THere is a gate for security and you get the code when you check in. Warning-roads are rough and bumpy. If you can bring an SUV or truck i would recommend it especially if it rains. There are no paved roads at all and no sidewalks.
THe rooms are in several differnet buildings. The upstairs rooms have VERY STEEP steps and are a little scary for sure. It is a difficult trudge with your suitcases and if it rains look out. If you have any reservations, I would ask for a ground floor room.

The rooms are nice, with lots of wood all around and very quiet and private. You can tell that the rooms are a little older and could use some updating. Also the room needed to be cleaned a little better. There were lots of cobwebs up high but overall i would give it a 8 out of 10. Also our room smelled like wood smoke from the fireplace and you have no way of closing that off. It wasn't bad, just be warned. Bed was comforatable and the linens were adequate-I would recommend bringing extra pillows too. THere was a mini fridge, good storage but no microwave and a small coffee pot. They give you some nuts and chips as a welcome and we had the cheese and wine in our room as they weren't doing the social hour due to not enough folks staying i guess.

The bathroom is large and the tile tub is ridiculously big. You can swim in there. It takes a lot of hot water to fill it up.

Breakfast is included but be prepared to walk a short distance to the "lake-house", mor like a swamp but nice. Once again there weren't enough guests to warranty the buffet, but we ordered a la carte, and it was very good. Our server was extremely friendly and helpful. THe food was fresh and hot and cooked just how you like it.

We did the winter get-a-way package and it is a deal. We got to tour the gardens at middleton place with a free guided tour. The house tour is also included but we skipped that. It made us feel special to have everything already covered with the tours, when you check in they give you your stickers and such for the tours, kind of like VIPs. It was a beautiful day to tour the gardens and it is a very relaxing place. Also included with the package is dinner at the middleton place restaraunt. THIS IS A MUST. It is nice and quaint and cozy. The food we had was amazing, our server Blake was great and just kept the food coming. Dessert was over the top.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will go back. I don't know if it would be such a bargain paying regular prices but again the winter getaway is well worth it. Have fun!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wallybanger1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beafort south carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

Stayed at the Middleton Inn and thoroughly enjoyed it even though the weather was very cold. The amenities that you get are so great that the price is worth it even though we did get a great deal on the room because of the season. Fiist wine,beer and appetizers in their lodge, very enjoyable. The room was nice, huge soaking tub, nice touch with the bath salts and lotions, and great view. The best part was the amazing mattress, so comfortable, we have stayed in many inns and i think this bed was the best! Also the breakfast was number one too, i want to go back just for these two things- the shrimp and grits great! We had a fantastic dinner at their restaurnant very good and not bad priced, very romantic! Plus there beautiful gardens. You really get your moneys worth. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mountaincrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

My live--in girlfriend and I stayed at The Inn after christmas. We had just visited Savannah and wanted something a little out of charleston but close enough to spend the day there. We hit it right on the mark.
Each building has 4 rooms (2 upstairs and 2 down). I think a few of the rooms are different but ours was big. Queen bed, desk, couch with a fireplace and a large bathroom with a 150 gallon tub. The cedar gives it a cabin feeling but its a nice woodsy place. They provide firewood and directions how to get it going along with a starter block (i'm from the suburbs of NY so i welcomed the help). We needed another block after 2 nights and the reception brought it herself minutes later.
We went to the clubhouse one night for a drink which was lovely. They have some board games there and its a very friendly atmosphere. Breakfast in the morning wasn't anything over the top but consistent and good. They had some good french toast one morning and nothing ever ran out.
The Inn is a short walk from Middleton Plantation. The area is gorgeous and a great place to walk around and enjoy the surroundings. We took the house tour which was alright but the tour guides are hit or miss. We spend a whole day walking around the property and the tour and everything else is included in your stay. We also booked where dinner was included in the restaurant at Middleton which is another review (great restaurant) but the walk at night was romantic and creepy (dark lighted walk but you hear leaves moving scary...).
All in all I would recommend staying here. Its not that close to charleston but its a beautiful place and very quiet. Great getaway spot.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acali07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#13 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Property: Inn at Middleton Place
Address: 4290 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414-7200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing