We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some improvement”
Review of Country Victorian

Country Victorian
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country Victorian
Ranked #26 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Needs some improvement”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Happy with the attention from the hostess and the friendly tourist advice given. Breakfast was personal and very pleasant. The hotel is in an old victorian house which badly needs some renovation and a good coat of paint. The room was large and generally comfortable but a bit musty and covered in old 'antiques' which is ok if that's your thing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamFinding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    8
    2
    2
    16
See reviews for
11
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bryan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I believe the hostess must be reading these reviews as we had no complaints. Plenty of breakfast and she made a point of asking if we wanted more each day. The place is clean and full of character. Yes, you have to take your shoes off in your room, but it that really so hard? She has a floor rug right at the door for you to stand on as you do this. Easy walking distance to most of the old city and houses.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Very enjoyable old B&B South of Broad in a wonderful old Charleston. The owner, Diane, was very helpful in guiding us to local restaurants and events. Next trip to Charleston we will stay at Country Victorian again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

peeling paint and warped wood, musty mildewy smells, walk to our room through a stinky storage room with a room lock that doesn't work (we jammed a chair under the door knob to seal it), no hot water, dank cramped eating area filled to overflow with old hoarded country knick knacks and $185 + 12% "tax" a night, cash only! we stumbled into this unpleasant location because we waited too late to book a room, and it was, quite honestly, a bit frightening. i am confident that this is an honest review. we are easy-going people, but this was just way too unfair to advertise that this is a welcoming venue. for example upon arrival late in the evening, stuck with no options, i doublechecked with the owner "does the hot water work ok?" and was assured all is well, only to find out late in the evening- luke warm water only.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DPLPtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charleston hotels

Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

After reading some of the earlier reviews, we were pleasantly surprised. Enjoyed the decorations in the room which was very clean. Diane knows the in's and out's of Charlestion. It was a little on the cold side, so we were served breakfast in the dinning room. It was very enjoyable. Would not hesitate to stay here again and you can not beat the location. Staying south of Broad street is the only way to go.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Diane greeted us, showed us our room and gave us all kinds of great tips on what to see, where to walk and the best places to eat. Enjoyed a nice breakfast on the prorch both mornings of our stay. We love antiques and the room was full of them. We visit Charleston a lot and would stay here again. You can't beat the location either.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scothishqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The location was great...in the heart of the historic district so we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. It was close to the wharf and peer, downtown, the Market Square, and tons of restaurants and shops. Ms. Weed was very helpful by providing brochures, coupons and information to help us get around. We had the King bed room and found the bed very comfortable and the room quiet. Having been built in the early 1800's, the home has survived many hurricanes and earthquakes. It has a very faint musty smell as you first enter, however I found that the smell was gone by the time we walked up the steps to the room. Also, many homes this old have floors that are not exactly level. That is the case in this home, however it was very mild. My husband and I thought our room charming, and we loved the fact that it was so old and enduring. We only found a few notes, and having rented our home before, we know from experience that not everyone knows how to treat "real wood" furniture" and bathrooms in a truly old home. It only takes 1 out of 100 people to ruin an antique chair or table - something not easily replaced. The TV was small and older, but we didn't mind as we only watched the news for a brief time. Outside, the paint was peeling, but inside was clean and had been lovingly decorated with very nice antiques. We had a wonderful breakfast that was very satisfying and delicious. We also had fun meeting the other guests while we enjoyed our breakfast. For what we needed, this was a great place for us to stay, and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Charming historic home in a great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tntravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
The Elliott House Inn
#33 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Charlestowne
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Governor's House Inn
#2 of 40 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
French Quarter
27 State Street Bed and Breakfast
Charlestowne
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Victorian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Victorian

Property: Country Victorian
Address: 105 Tradd St, Charleston, SC 29401-2422
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Country Victorian Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing