We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummmmmmy...”
Review of LowCountry Bistro

LowCountry Bistro
Ranked #39 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Church Street and South Market
Description: SIMPLY LOWCOUNTRY: Lowcountry Bistro focuses only on the freshest ingredients since all of the food we cook is from scratch. On the menu you will find cult favorites like Chicken and Waffles to Lowcountry classics like Shrimp and Grits. We also believe that great food can be affordable. Many of our lunch dishes are under $10. Our goal as a restaurant is to serve high quality, delicious food, at a fair price. We hope you agree after your meal at Lowcountry Bistro. SISTER RESTAURANT TO 82 QUEEN As an icon of the city for over 30 years, we have seen restaurants come and go. We pride ourselves on the fact that we were one of the first original Lowcountry cuisine restaurants to open their doors in the city. We know Lowcountry and after diligently researching Market Street restaurants, have come to the conclusion that what the area needs is a true, authentic Lowcountry restaurant.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yummmmmmy...”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I took my family to dinner with high hopes! We are from Charleston originally and love the local seafood. My dad and aunt both had the crab and shrimp stuffed flounder with asparagus and mixed vegetables. My mom had the fried flounder with collard greens and red rice. I had the shrimp-n-grits with she crab soup. Everyone enjoyed their meal a great deal. I will say that the she crab was a little thicker than traditionally made and the shrimp and grits were not made with gravy (as is the "Charleston" way) but with a tomato sauce. Both were fantastic, just not the norm for the area. Jonathan was our server and was witty and fun. We were their at 5 on a Tuesday so we had the place to ourselves. I would definitely send my friends here, so go check it out!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LDM999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
82Queen, Guest Relations Manager at LowCountry Bistro, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for visiting us at Lowcountry Bistro. We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,009
    478
    141
    35
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Will never return”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Probably the most annoying thing is the noise. Throughout the whole meal the lady behind the bar had some kind of machine going (ice crushing device maybe) which grated the nerves. Really bad. We ordered dessert, got the wrong item and then it took fifteen minutes to get a sliver of pie (stone cold) with warm marshmallows on top. The kale was really good, the rest, tasteless and mushy. The waiter was indifferent. The lady at the reservations desk was awesome, she really cared. $24 for a bottle of Beringer Sauvignon Blanc that costs $5 at my local market. Seriously? Did I mention the grating noise behind the bar? $79 for two bland meals, one tiny stone cold dessert, one beer and a glass of wine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guestRelationsSav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
82Queen, Guest Relations Manager at LowCountry Bistro, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for visiting Lowcountry Bistro. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and tell us about your recent visit. We are truly sorry that your visit at LB's wasn't the most enjoyable and appreciate your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again at Lowcountry Bistro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Don't get the side of asparagus”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

First things first, don't get the side of asparagus. It comes with literally 5 shrunken spears of asparagus, which cost $4! Myself and the party I was with couldn't believe they even served me thattttt small of a side dish. It was such a joke. I wish I would have gotten a picture! Tip: give customers a little more than just 5 small spears. Other than that our over all experience was average. The corn bread was just OK - although the portion for this side item ($4 too) was HUGE, it could have been a little more moist. The nachos were also a huge dish, even though it was just an appetizer. I agree with another comment on here, we were able to dine upstairs which was better than downstairs. Overall, I don't think I would go back. We saw other "café" like places that we would probably try next time for lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
82Queen, Guest Relations Manager at LowCountry Bistro, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for visiting Lowcountry Bistro. We appreciate you telling us about your recent experience and giving us your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again at Lowcountry Bistro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bryn mawr, pa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“get the fingerlings”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

one of the best thing I have eaten anywhere. good food and ambiance and friendly staff. chicken and waffles also very good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tapkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
82Queen, Guest Relations Manager at LowCountry Bistro, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you so much for visiting Lowcountry Bistro! We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent experience with us. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“All five of us loved it”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Our group of five ranged in age from 89 to 18 and we all loved it. They initially wanted to seat us downstairs but I didn't care for the two small tables they were going to marry to accommodate us so they ended up seating us upstairs. The upstairs dining room was much better than downstairs in my opinion. The five of us all had a different entree and they all looked and tasted great. Eric was our server and he explained their menu extremely well and helped us mix and match sides based upon dietary restrictions. We will return to this restaurant the next time we return to Charleston.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ongracebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
82Queen, Guest Relations Manager at LowCountry Bistro, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you so much for dining with us at Lowcountry Bistro. We are so happy that you all enjoyed your most recent experience with us. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LowCountry Bistro also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to LowCountry Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing