We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely delicious...”
Review of Bon Banh Mi

Bon Banh Mi
Ranked #225 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious...”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

...and much better than in Vietnam :-)
You need to try all of them and make sure to taste some of the beers and special sodas. The owner provides lots of tips what to try! Perfect banh mis in the middle of the US. Thanks a lot for the experience.

Helpful?
Thank blubbel1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    12
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“On the go”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I like it more than I thought. The five spice tofu is fantastic. My only critic is that the prices are a little bit too high for what it is. It is a sandwich with no sides! and is a little bit more than 8 dollars?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Auremil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Tasty Fresh and Straightforward Menu”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

If you have a craving for the flavors of a good bahn mi sandwich visit this understated mortar and brick located on Spring Street near President Street in downtown Charleston. The menu is simple and straightforward, Banh Mi sandwiches, salads and tacos. Choose from a variety of meats ranging from five spice pork to braised beef, or lemon grass chicken. The more traditional pate and ham is also available! Tofu is a non meat choice. The sandwich begins with a crusty baguette filled with your choice of meat, and topped with the traditional shredded carrot, cucumber, cilantro, basil and pickled daikon radish. The ingredients are fresh and the result is a super tasty sandwich! The salads are pretty much the same ingredients sans bread. The portion is large and makes a great lunch all by itself. For a mexi-vietnam fusion try one of the corn tortilla tacos! This is a great place to grab take out and enjoy a picnic in Hampton park near the Citadel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiawahkat43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Mediocre banh mi”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We went here, because we were staying in an apartment nearby. My banh mi wasn't particularly good (bit dry). A friend had a tofu banh mi, which she liked, but it wasn't amazing. Okay stop off if in the area, but wouldn't go out of the way to try them.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank greenfeet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum!!!”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We live closer to Co and FIre Street Food, but went out of our way to try Bon banh mi as we have heard great things about it. We called ahead and ordered two banh mis, one with 5 spice pork and the other with five spice tofu. I am always skeptical of take out sandwiches; usually they are soggy. Our pick up time was only 10 minutes. We found a parking space on the street right out front. The space was very charming; modern and clean! There is some seating if you wanted to dine in. We brought our food home and my worries of a soggy sandwich were totally assuaged. It was actually the best sandwich I've ever eaten. Flavorful and delicious! Totally satisfying. They deliver to most locations on the peninsula, so if you're seeking a fresh new lunch spot, give them a try!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krisgoulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bon Banh Mi also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bon Banh Mi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing