We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very entertaining”

The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live theatre featuring clean comic whodunit shows, volunteer audience participation, a la carte appetizers, desserts, and drinks.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not very entertaining”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

This is held in a small room with a very small stage area. The tables are tightly packed and drink/dessert service is very slow. Audience participation was used, but we found the show to be boring. It appears to be run on a shoe-string; I would not return.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1LoveItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    108
    26
    13
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun and different experience!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We went to the No Clue Murder Mystery show. This is a theatre with audience participation and I volunteered to have a small part. We laughed the entire time, and had such a great time we went back two nights later for their Sherlock Holmes show. We didn't think this show was as funny as the No Clue show, but still had a fun time. I highly recommend the No Clue show! Call to get reservations and ask to sit in one of the booths.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sweetmama17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We found this on Tripadvisor before coming down to Folly for Thanksgiving, so I booked tickets for the whole family to see their Sherlock Holmes show. We weren't really sure what it was going to be all about, and I was a little nervous when we walked in and saw how small the theater area was, but we really enjoyed ourselves. There wasn't a full house on the cold night we were there, so we joined in on the audience participation for the show - what a hoot! Go with the mindset of sitting back and enjoying -- or, even better, joining in -- an enthusiastic mom-and-pop comedy theater, getting a little Charleston history along the way. Showtimes are well-timed for snacks & drinks before/after a meal, and their shop area is full of great mystery-themed games. We wish the owners the best of luck and hope folks (like us) will visit, and then plan to visit again!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank padstow99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good comedy theatre!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We went to the Inspector No Clue Murder Mystery and had a really good time. There was a full house and a good group of crowd participants that really made it entertaining. Prices for drinks, desserts and appetizers were reasonable for being in downtown Charleston. Would definitely recommend to a couple out for a night on the town.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fun Way to Spend an Evening”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We came across this place why walking around and decided to stop by and try it. We were lucky there was a table left- it fills up quick. To the other reviewers- lighten up! Yes, this is not Broadway and not a huge place, but it is NOT intended to be. The shows are whodunits and there is a lot of audience participation. You need to take this place as it is- a place to just have campy fun and NOT take things too seriously. The fun of this evening is the audience participation and the people who are trying to act, can't act despite trying, and the occasional gem of an actor in the crowd. We had no expectations going in, but left laughing and glad we went. The only negative? Well, we won the trivia- you need to guess who each of the people are pictured on the walls. The prize was a used mystery book. I suggest they give out a shirt with their name on it or something like that instead. Besides- I had already read the book. Go,let your hair down, and have fun.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing