We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Show”

The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live theatre featuring clean comic whodunit shows, volunteer audience participation, a la carte appetizers, desserts, and drinks.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Monroe
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun Show”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a great time watching, and being a part of the Mystery/Comedy Sherlock. Even learned a bit of Charleston trivia. My husband participated in the show. Had lots of great laughs!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    106
    24
    12
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“For a really fun time... The Black Fedora is a MUST!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was the "MOST FUN and FUNNY ACTIVITY" while visiting Charleston. I am an avid fan of "How to Host a Murder Mystery" and convinced my two friends to check out The Black fedora with me. We met Darryl, the owner/writer/actor, on a Friday afternoon while checking out the local stores. (The Black Fedora has lots of fun mystery items/games/books for sale!) He was super friendly sharing how their theater works and a little about the various shows. We decided on Heist, Heist Baby as it fit our schedule best. (This was an early Sunday evening show.) I happily accepted a more major role and my friends took on roles too! Boy was I surprised at how enthusiastically they threw themselves into those roles! The snacks/beverages and desserts were delicious and reasonably priced. The walls are lined with famous sleuths for you to identify. The staff is super friendly... and the "show" was packed with quick-witted humor... and yes, you can take pictures!! Bring a crowd and have a blast ... you will be glad you did!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Review_by_Bon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
“Great time for all”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We just went back to Charleston for the second year in a row, and this was our second visit to the Black Fedora. We have now seen both Inspector No Clues and Heist Heist Baby and I can't recommend this place enough. Whether you participate or not, the actors are all so wonderfully talented and they really get you involved in the show. The shows are very reasonably priced for such a fantastic night out in the most beautiful town ever!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jkg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Silly (slightly embarrassing if you have stage fright) but a blast”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a lot of fun at "Inspector No Clues". The actor who played Inspector No Clues was particularly good and funny. The fun of the show is seeing people you know doing and saying ridiculous things. This is one of the type of shows where the audience is expected to participate; for some people that might be scary but after little bit was a lot of fun for all of us.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank agcandkrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
858 reviews
225 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Good Fun!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Easy online reservations and easy to locate close to market. There is a metered parking on street but hard to get after 5 since it is free. But large parking garage also across street and just across other street from there is a small surface church parking lot with attendant. The staff at Black Fedora is personable and engaging. The theatre is small and venue. Great entertainment and fun involving the audience with short reading parts for about 12 people for the Inspector No Clue show. Most of the parts were for women and audience was very supportive and involved. it is all in fun participation. They have drinks and snack fare for reasonable prices. We found it to be a really relaxing vacation diversion. There are many restaurants around the theatre to eat before the show. Area is well lit after the show to get back to car. I think this show has been around for maybe two years and they are working to keep it going. Go with the frame of mind of enjoyment--not Broadway entertainment:) So if you want a different venue for your vacation, support this show and ENJOY!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LAH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing