We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could use a few more chairs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Beer Works

Charleston Beer Works
Ranked #261 of 898 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Could use a few more chairs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I visited Charleston Beer Works the first night of the NFL 2014 Draft which was also the night of one of the Bruins' playoff series games. It attracted a TON of Boston fans so if you were cheering for the Habs or just wanted to see Boston lose, CBW was not your bar. They also had no sound on the draft, only the hockey game, which I thought was too bad. The place was packed and seemed to attract a crowd in their late twenties to early thirties, they had a nice draft selection and the staff was working very hard to keep up with everyone. There was lots of standing, leaning against tables, but for the most part I enjoyed the few hours I spent there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    46
    19
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
287 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Cold Beer but Tiny Sides”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stopped by for the lunch special, order a "craft" beer and get half off the burger of the month. Unlike most places, burgers here don't come with fries or anything else. I ordered a salad side which was served with the burger in one of those tiny cups often used for coleslaw, not worth paying extra.

Service was slow both in time it took to be waited on and to produce the food. I was not offered condiments and gave up trying to get any. On the plus side, they had cloth napkins, but black.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“No thanks.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Typical nasty college bar with poor service. Food is laughable and they are out of half the beers on tap. No point in going here. Grungy.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashpav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston B, General Manager at Charleston Beer Works, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
We appreciate your feedback, Ashton. We also noticed that the last time you visited us was June of last year. We encourage you to come back and give us a try. We think you'll find that our food is actually quite a bit more than typical bar food - local produce, house-ground beef provided by local farmers, seasonal ingredients, etc.

We always appreciate hearing about our guests' experiences, and I welcome you to call me at (843) 577-5885 to chat about your visit with us in more detail.

Best,
Matt Hensley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
136 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“not the greatest last minute service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

went in for a snack and beer, Dec 26, 2013, but they were going to close I think because it was a ghost town in there. We couldn't get any food and they really wanted us to go away. Drank one and left. I guess they close early?

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
150 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Your Typical College Bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I give this place an average rating because it was stolidly average. I have to say that maybe on a normal night it would have gotten a higher rating but I was there on a Monday Night Football night when Carolina was playing so the place was packed and no wait staff showed up for their shifts. This meant that the two bartenders were trying to handle the bar and food orders until they could get some additional help to come in to assist. This meant that we had to wait longer than normal to place our order, get our food and our bill. I was watching the game so I didn't mind't mind too much but it did finally get annoying when we were getting hungry and there was no on e to take our order. But hey, it's a bar so no one really expect much! The food was average bar food and the beer selection was nothing special.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBrainstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charleston Beer Works also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Beer Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing