We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place in Charleston that we returned to!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brown Dog Deli

Brown Dog Deli
Ranked #12 of 899 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arcadia, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The only place in Charleston that we returned to!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was determined to not eat at the same place twice during our vacation, but darn if we didn't hit this 2 days in a row for lunch. My 13 year old said the Broad St BBQ was the best sandwich she ever had, and got it both days. How can you go wrong with Cheerwine in the BBQ sauce?? I had Hailey's Sweet Summer Salad on day 1, which was a creative blend of all kinds of goodies. Day 2 was the Ahi Tuna Tacos, which were excellent. I ordered them medium, which was plenty spicy for me. Definitely a hit with the entire family. Ran out of sweet tea on day one, so I'm docking a star. Out of sweet tea in Charleston??? :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    227
    36
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Where it's Cool to Drool!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great Deli down on broad street. Next to the Blind Tiger Pub. Gets busy around lunch time due to the courthouse crowd coming in. Large menu of great deli wraps and sandwiches. Try the strawberry basil lemonade, it's very good!! Their is seating inside in the A/C and also a small covered patio out back. Staff was quick. Grab a T-shirt from the front by the hostess on your way out!! Great Stop for a Deli Lunch!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nuclearmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Had read about this place and stumbled across it at 11:30. Went in for lunch and was overwhelmed by the menu. Lots to choose from. Waitress was super helpful in decision making. Highly recommend for good value. Try the Cuban!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Rest Weary Dogs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent food. Strawberry Basil Lemonade! Duck Confit BLT! Chilled Pad Thai with Shrimp. Friendly servers. Affordable prices. We went there twice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrish59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Lunch In Town With Excellent Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

The food was absolutely a must have when in Charleston. I had the curry chicken salad and my wife had the jerk chicken rice wrap. Great food at a great price. So much to order from wish I would've found it earlier in the week so I could've tried more. Discovered this place on the last day of the vacation trip. Wanted to stay an extra day to try something else on the menu because it was so good. Sweet potatoe potato salad was delicious. Wish Charlotte had a Brown Dog Deli.

Helpful?
1 Thank bruce b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brown Dog Deli also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Brown Dog Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing