We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay and great service”
Review of Zero George Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zero George Street
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
“Fantastic stay and great service”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed two nights at Zero George and the hotel is everything we were looking for. The property itself is amazing. Zero George has the right combination of charm, character, luxury, service, and location. We couldn't be happier with our stay here. The staff was awesome and accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    40
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
51
332
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Everything about Zero George was perfect! The location and setting were spectacular! The rooms were beautifully decorated and full of great amenities, including a Keurig coffee maker and mini refrigerator. Loved the modern bathroom, complete with the rain fall shower head in the spacious walk-in shower. And the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!! At night the veranda and courtyard were lit with real lanterns and music played throughout, making the perfect setting at night. Justin, the bartender, made the most delicious cocktails and gave us great restaurant suggestions. The staff was very polite and attentive...true southern hospitality! The location was perfect, walking distance to the main shopping area, a grocery store and many restaurants. Do not hesitate in staying here! We cannot wait to come back. Thank you to everyone at Zero George for making this one of our most memorable vacations!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ME M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Although, I did not stay here I was very unhappy with dealing with the front desk. I recently called to take advantage of TripAdvisor's promotion: ("Charleston Winter Escape" Enjoy 15% off your three night stay or 25% off four or nights when you stay this Fall and Winter . Click on "Redeem this offer" below to make your reservation today. Offer valid any day of the week.Valid for Redemption: Nov 14, 2013 - Feb 28, 2014) There is no mention of black out dates. Rather than provide me the discounted rate and gain a new customer the manager did not honor the advertised price and simply gave the explanation that it was a mistake. I would have booked anyway however, being that there were already issues with front desk in just trying to book a room with their own advertised promotion- I decided it would probably foreshadow their service for my stay and reinforced the negative reviews I have read here on TripAdvisor. Instead I have booked my stay elsewhere and look forward to sharing that review.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Globetrotter339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson Valley, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Love Charleston and now love it more with Zero George to stay at. Like staying with friends in Charleston at a totally renovated classic building and outbuildings enclosing a lovely courtyard with plantings, seating & fountain. Complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon and buffet breakfast are well done. The excellent staff are friendly, knowledgeable about the area and will go above and beyond to make your stay perfect. Look no further.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tango009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We booked our reservation because all the reviews mentioned the word amazing and it really was!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great breakfast in the am, walking distance to everything, and a very pleasant staff. The complimentary wine during happy hour certainly didn't hurt.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Zero George is a beautiful property in the city of Charleston. It is located about a 10 minute stroll from the market area - a bit away from the hustle and bustle. The staff were friendly and were full of advice of the best places to visit, eat and drink (highly recommend Mackintosh for dinner, Closed for business for brunch and The Gin Joint for a cocktail). Our room was in the main house, a queen room - nicely appointed with a fantastic shower in the bathroom (which was quite small). The bed was very comfortable! There are plenty of outside areas to sit and enjoy the complimentary glass of wine (but only on a Thursday, Friday and Saturday evening - why not every night?). We ate at the hotel on the first evening - small plates and only a small menu but good food. The hotel is not the cheapest of places to stay but I highly recommend it and will stay there again if I visit Charleston again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noidea46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

on our first visit to Charleston we felt so lucky to have found such an ideal spot. the hotel is a collection of historic building around a beautiful courtyard. our room was incredibly spacious and very well appointed. high ceilings, fabulous decor. loved the enormous bathroom and glassed in shower. breakfast was tasty and the miele coffeemaker a real treat. wine and cheese in the evening was not to be missed. we spent a whole afternoon lounging on the piazza (veranda) on the comfy daybed and couldn't have been happier. the staff was exceptional... enthusiastic, knowledgeable, helpful, personable and professional... a perfect fit for us. the attention to detail was impressive and we will be returning and recommending to all our friends. thank you for the hospitality.

Room Tip: i think all the rooms are probably very good - we were on the top floor of the zero george building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,832 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,022 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Restoration
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,010 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 62 in Charleston
442 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 62 in Charleston
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zero George Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zero George Street

Property: Zero George Street
Address: 0 George St, Charleston, SC 29401-1543
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Zero George Street 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zero George Street is Charleston’s European-style boutique hotel, established in restored historic residences, surrounded by lush courtyards. Designed with the sophisticated traveler in mind. A blend of historic architecture, with modern amenities, innovative bathrooms, and casually elegant guestrooms and suites, with adjoining open-air furnished veranda terraces. Located in the historic Ansonborough neighborhood, you will be within walking distance of the Battery, down East Bay Street with its restaurants, bars and retail, and across from the waterfront development – SC Aquarium, Cruise Ship terminal, and the Gaillard Arts Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Zero George Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing