We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Christmas Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zero George Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zero George Street
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Great Christmas Stay”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and i stayed in this fabulous boutique hotel for Christmas. There are multiple buildings around a charming courtyard with a fountain where we were able to have breakfast one day. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean, spacious, and quiet; decorated with a southern touch. The bathrooms were elegant. The breakfast buffet cannot be beaten with your choice of espresso, coffee, cappuccino, latte, or any other beverage you desire. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone getting away to Charleston as it is in easy walking distance to all the sites.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balcahol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    40
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
46
323
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent 3 nights in Zero George and loved it. Our first night was made special because all the guests were invited to join a private party. As a result, we talked to the owners, the party guests and learned more about Charleston. What a delightful welcome. We enjoyed the wonderful breakfast every morning, our lovely room with a large bathroom, complimentary water and airy veranda outside the room. Unfortunately, a huge construction project was going on across the street. I hope the work is finished when we return next year. We would love to come back for another visit.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the second floor of the building facing the courtyard. There are also smaller b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlorafromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Zero George Hotel in Charleston S.C. the weekend before Christmas. The Zero George is a lovely restored home that has been made into a superior hotel. The staff is young, knowledgeable and friendly. They were always available to give suggestions and help in any way. The room was beautiful, the bed was very comfortable and the shower felt great after a day of walking and exploring Charleston. My husband and I also enjoyed the cocktail hour (choice of 2 wines and crudités) and continental breakfast that were included in the hotel package. I will recommend this hotel to anyone interested in spending some quality time in the friendliest city in the world, Charleston, S.C. and I hope to return soon, myself.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katonah, ny
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

we very much enjoyed our recent stay at this hotel. It is a charming hotel with nicely decorated and very clean rooms. There were nice amenities in the room including free beverages in the mini refrigerator. This hotel may not be for everyone though since our room was on the third floor and there is no elevator. The staff was very helpful and would have carried our bags to the room if necessary but we were fine carrying our own. There is a free continental breakfast every morning which was nice. The hotel is a little off the beaten path but is a short walk to the main part of town. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Disappointing Zero George
Marcia, Kiawah island SC

Just spent Xmas eve with my husband at Zero George. ...we had great expectations after all the press and were very disappointed....room looked at the staircase to second floor so we couldn't open our drapes...not much hot water in the shower...poor towels and bathrobes, room amenities such as drinks, coffee, water had not been refilled ...no turndown service... Stale baked goods at breakfast...No Xmas spirit...fire not lit, few decorations, no music and while there were heat lamps in the garden, the staff kept saying they light them but it never happened. We did have a great bed in our king room.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crane Hill, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
293 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights to celebrate my Dec birthday. We were so very pleased by the attention of the staff and the room was really lovely. Great linens, super shower and bath, refrigerator drawer , great ambiance!

Nice touch to provide complimentary glass of good wine for happy hour, and nibbles, also super great blue cheese! Great upscale continental breakfast. Beautiful courtyard newly landscaped. We enjoyed the second floor piazza overlooking the courtyard several afternoons....wonderful to unwind even further and celebrate the warm weather before we returned to cold yukky weather! This place is a really good find and we would definitely recommend it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights here and loved it! The hotel is four beautiful buildings set around a courtyard. We were in the Cooper building, our room was large, clean and very comfortable. All the staff were friendly and helpful, especially Katherine we helped us out with reservations and advice. The hotel is a little further from the main attractions than some of the other hotels we looked at but we have no regrets about choosing the Zero George. As an added bonus they provided valet parking for $20 which after a long drive we were grateful for.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KobbyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,726 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 60 in Charleston
391 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#1 of 60 in Charleston
819 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 60 in Charleston
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zero George Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zero George Street

Property: Zero George Street
Address: 0 George St, Charleston, SC 29401-1543
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Zero George Street 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zero George Street is Charleston’s European-style boutique hotel, established in restored historic residences, surrounded by lush courtyards. Designed with the sophisticated traveler in mind. A blend of historic architecture, with modern amenities, innovative bathrooms, and casually elegant guestrooms and suites, with adjoining open-air furnished veranda terraces. Located in the historic Ansonborough neighborhood, you will be within walking distance of the Battery, down East Bay Street with its restaurants, bars and retail, and across from the waterfront development – SC Aquarium, Cruise Ship terminal, and the Gaillard Arts Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zero George Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing