We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Place”
Review of Zero George Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zero George Street
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a gem of a place, accessible to all attractions, located in a quiet part of the city. The owners used to run Orient Express luxury hotels and it shows at Zero George. However, unlike bigger luxury hotels, Zero George is personable, quaint and above all very welcoming. Everything from the hotel concept to the finest details in the rooms, from the friendly staff to the outstanding food, made our stay memorable. The beds were the most comfortable ones we've slept on in a while. This place is magical and we did not want to leave. We highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in a King Room (Z3) on the second floor with a lovely balcony overlooking the patio.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Attila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
There are newer reviews for Zero George Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, inside and out. It was slightly off the beaten path of the tourist areas ( a positive in my opinion) but still a very easy walk to every place we went, including restaurants, shopping, tours and museums. The room was extremely clean and comfortable and the staff was great. We also enjoyed the wine and cheese from 5-6. Highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeganFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The staff here is wonderful, kind, and completely aware that in this "space" (high-end hostelry) there's a lot of competition. This is a setting and experience on a par with the smaller Relais properties in France.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidMoore2328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

What a wonderful hotel. We arrived and had a bottle of wine in our room. The room was clean, great linens and comfortable. We had our days planned out and made dinner reservations ahead of time with the help of Alli the concierge. The recommendations were great. After a long day out we came back to wine and cheese at five o'clock. Great hotel and staff

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdavis2264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I loved staying at the Zero George. It was so quaint and swanky. There were yummy local treats in the room with complimentary beverages. They also had my favorite vitamin infused/gluten free toiletries from Brooklyn. The staff was extremely accommodating and sweet. The room was beautiful and comfortable. We didn't have breakfast but I heard from some of the locals that the new chef is great. I would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tqphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I cannot imagine a better place to stay in Charleston. The property is beautiful - rooms and public spaces - and extremely well maintained. Rooms are also very comfortable and the staff could not have been better. Other reviews are correct in that it is not in the middle of the tourist-oriented areas - we viewed this as an advantage. Nothing we wanted to do or see - and no restaurant we wanted to go to - was more than a 10-20 minute walk, and Charleston is the perfect walking city. It was also great to get away from the crowds to a lovely, lower-key area that was also filled with historic homes. We ate dinner at the cafe one night for a light bite before theater, and then returned after for desert - the food was fresh, interesting, and delicious. We will definitely stay here again if we return to Charleston.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at Zero George. It's a wonderful mix between a hotel and a bed and breakfast, with personal service and a romantic, intimate atmosphere. The decor is stunning - soft, calming colors and a perfect mix of clean, modern lines and traditional. The all-marble bathrooms are beautiful. It's obvious that a lot of care was taken in decorating, and that impeccable attention to detail translates to every aspect of our stay at ZG. Many thoughtful little touches - Malin + Goetz toiletries above and beyond the usual shampoo, in-room mini fridge with complimentary bottled waters and Izze drinks, Keurig coffee makers, nightly turn-downs with fresh bottled water and a little treat. The breakfast each morning was a lovely spread - fresh fruits, yogurts, delicious muffins and croissants, prosciutto, cheese, hard-boiled eggs, and more. They also make you cappuccinos and lattes. The hotel itself is slightly off the beaten path, which is kind of nice! We took advantage of the $20/night valet parking and mostly walked around the city. Meeting Street was just a 5 minute walk, and King Street was about 10 minutes. We had the Garden Suite (that was the only room available at the time we were visiting) and it was lovely. The only complaint we had was that our room was advertised with a queen bed and it was actually a full (being that we typically prefer a king bed, we weren't thrilled), but the bed was very comfortable and had plush linens. We wouldn't hesitate to return to Zero George and experience some of the other lovely rooms!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lisaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,880 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,067 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
481 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Restoration
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zero George Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zero George Street

Address: 0 George St, Charleston, SC 29401-1543
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: £276 - £500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zero George Street 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zero George Street is Charleston’s European-style boutique hotel, established in restored historic residences, surrounded by lush courtyards. Designed with the sophisticated traveler in mind. A blend of historic architecture, with modern amenities, innovative bathrooms, and casually elegant guestrooms and suites, with adjoining open-air furnished veranda terraces. Located in the historic Ansonborough neighborhood, you will be within walking distance of the Battery, down East Bay Street with its restaurants, bars and retail, and across from the waterfront development – SC Aquarium, Cruise Ship terminal, and the Gaillard Arts Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Zero George Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing