We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience.”
Review of Zero George Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zero George Street
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend this place. Quiet and quaint. Beautiful accommodations and attention to every detail. Not corporate. More like a B&B. Historic old houses with updated finishes. Food is fantastic and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray B, General Manager at Zero George Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Travis, thank you for the great review and for allowing us to host you at Zero George! We're happy that you found the hotel beautiful and that you were able to enjoy our Zero Café + Bar. Our goal is to have our guests experience a unique taste of Charleston history at our circa 1804 property while at the same time having the latest modern amenities for what we hope is the best of both worlds. Let us know when you plan a return trip to Charleston, we hope to welcome you back to Zero George!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

We visiting Charleston the last week of July and dined out all over the city. The BEST meal we had was at the very charming Zero George. We loved everything about it. The service was great, the atmosphere charming and the food was both innovative and delightful. We stayed for a bottle of champagne on the veranda as we waited out a rain storm and loved every minute of our time there. Next time we visit we will also stay at Zero George.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray B, General Manager at Zero George Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hi Jen, thank you for dining at Zero Café + Bar at Zero George and the wonderful review! Our Chef Vinson Petrillo really believes in the farm to table philosophy, being innovative and thorough in the execution of every dish that's being served. Our Café + Bar team view themselves as artists rounding off the dining "moment". Champagne, a relaxing veranda, day bed and storm sound wonderful together...Happy to hear that you were able to experience that. Please join us for a stay at Zero George the next time you're in Charleston. We would be grateful to welcome you as hotel guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Absolutely LOVED this hotel! My husband and I went to Charleston for the first time recently, for "mini-moon" looking for a little R&R following our wedding. Not only did we adore Charleston, but Zero George was the perfect hotel- charming, conveniently located, complete with a friendly and helpful staff and a complimentary cheese and wine hour every evening. It was elegant, yet comfortable, and traditional yet chic- a really lovely place and made for a very lovely getaway. I highly recommend this place- we hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray B, General Manager at Zero George Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Congratulations and thank you for choosing Zero George for your "mini-moon"! So happy to hear that our staff helped you relax after your wedding and that you enjoyed the wine & cheese complimentary happy hour. Our goal is to be elegant yet approachable, so it pleases me that your experience reflected that philosophy. We appreciate the wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Zero George is a well located beautifully restored/recreated boutique hotel that fits right into the local Charleston architecture. Rooms are minimalist with nice decor and fittings, although ours was a little on the small side given the Midtown Manhattan prices. The evening wine and cheese reception is a nice touch, and the courtyard is a beautiful place to sit and relax. Breakfast was nice, with a limited range of options done well, apart from croissants which were simply awful (when you charge such high prices, you need to get everything right). We'd certainly look to stay here again if we returned to Charleston and can't say enough about how friendly the staff were, a real personal touch lacking in larger hotels.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KGM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray B, General Manager at Zero George Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Zero George! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the style, finish and decor of the rooms as well as the our courtyard. We have a variety of rooms each being somewhat unique in style and size and also ranging from our Veranda rooms to our Garden Suites.

We're glad that the wine & cheese reception was well received as a nice touch and happy to hear that over all breakfast was nice. We appreciate the feedback about the croissant and have spoken to our baker to ensure that everything is just perfect.

We hope to welcome you back to Charleston and Zero George for an enjoyable stay with great croissants!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Zero George hotel, makes you feel as though you are stepping back in time, but with all the modern conveniences of a luxury boutique hotel. The staff members...Allie, Sam, Ryder, and Justin (Mixologist) were true assets to this property and made sure that we were happy, content and taken care of. The rooms are simply beautiful, with high end furnishings and touches that you will remember forever. Hand made turtles left by the bedside, and the MOST perfect, adorable, single serving glass water carafe's that made us feel special and attended to.

The chef is beyond talented, and we were lucky enough to taste his "Surf and Turf" - Scallops and Pork Belly on corn pudding! Beyond delicious! The cheese board was spectacular, and the drinks are worth a taste! Justin was the bartender and also our server and his pleasant, kind and knowledgeable demeanor was so refreshing and wonderful. We WILL be back for the Monday Cooking School....The talent of the chef, and the quality of the food, is beyond any that you will find! The set up of the kitchen, right in the "lobby", is also spectacular, to see him creating such decadent and delicious plates.

Take some time to visit the drawing room, just above the dining room, as it is simply peaceful, and lovely and romantic! A perfect spot to end the day with candles and jazz!

The continental breakfast (included) is exactly what you need, nothing more, nothing less, and is filled with little surprises of European tastes and service.

This location is amazing and within walking distance of many great restaurants, be sure to go to Cafe' Cru for lunch! Sam at the front desk suggested it, and it was GREAT!!! Also, hit up Caviar and Bananas just down George Street for Breakfast, Lunch or snacks....fun & healthy spot!

Thank you to the management, the staff, and all the thoughtful, creative energy and spirit that went into this beautiful, quaint, lux, peaceful and lovely hotel. You should all be very proud of what you have built and !!! WE WILL BE BACK!

Room Tip: The first floor queen was significantly larger than the 3rd floor queen, but both were beautiful in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyNStiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray B, General Manager at Zero George Street, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Wow, thank you so very much for the excellent review! We're delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience. Our goal is to provide our guests with amenable service in an elegant atmosphere. The team at Zero George genuinely care about our guests. I'll be sure to share your greatly appreciated compliments with the front desk, Chef and Café + Bar teams. If you would like to participate in one of our cooking classes make sure your stay is over a Monday night or Saturday morning. We're already looking forward to the next time you're in Charleston and would be honored to welcome you "home".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We LOVED this boutique hotel - it's loaded with character and comforts. Five restored historic buildings encircle a charming courtyard, and buildings have beautiful Southern-style porches with seating and fans. The room's furnishings were comfortable yet chic - heart of pine floors, a comfy reading chair, high-end linens, delicious-smelling toiletries, a Keurig, and a wet bar stocked with complimentary bottles of water and Izze sparkling juice. The room itself smelled fantastic - if we didn't have things to do, we could have stayed inside all day! Zero George also offers a complimentary happy hour featuring wine and a gourmet cheese plate, which we enjoyed in the courtyard. Even the cheese plate had delightful touches, such as candied pecans and apple butter. A continental breakfast is also included in the price of your stay, and a cappuccino machine is available to guests all day. Our only regret is that we didn't stay another night!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CharlotteTraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray B, General Manager at Zero George Street, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We appreciate you choosing Zero George and are very happy to hear that you loved what we hope will become your Charleston home away from home! We've done our best to capture the spirit of the South and it's beautiful gardens combined with modern amenities and touches that the discerning traveler would expect. Thank you for the excellent review. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to Charleston soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I just celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at this boutique hotel. It was amazing and I would rate it 10 stars if I could. We stayed in a garden suite which was really lovely. It had a sitting room and a separate bedroom. Everyone who worked there was very helpful and always had a smile on their face. Nice breakfast in the morning (included) as well as complimentary wine and cheese every night from 5-6pm. Turn down service with a special treat on your pillow every night. We will definitely be staying there in the future! LOVED IT!

FYI.....there is no parking on site. You can pay an extra $20/per night to have your car valet parked in a secure lot down the street. You won't need your car....you can walk to downtown very easily. It was not a problem for us but just wanted to post so people know this info. There is also some construction going on across the street, but it never bothered us and was not a problem for us us either.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BZSooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
3,027 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 62 in Charleston
550 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,155 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#2 of 62 in Charleston
885 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zero George Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zero George Street

Address: 0 George St, Charleston, SC 29401-1543
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: £264 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zero George Street 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zero George Street is Charleston’s European-style boutique hotel, established in restored historic residences, surrounded by lush courtyards. Designed with the sophisticated traveler in mind. A blend of historic architecture, with modern amenities, innovative bathrooms, and casually elegant guestrooms and suites, with adjoining open-air furnished veranda terraces. Located in the historic Ansonborough neighborhood, you will be within walking distance of the Battery, down East Bay Street with its restaurants, bars and retail, and across from the waterfront development – SC Aquarium, Cruise Ship terminal, and the Gaillard Arts Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Zero George Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing