We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location is Everything”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Entry
Hallway Showing Desk and Bureau
Living Area With Gas Fireplace, 42' HD Television, Stereo and DVD Player
Kitchen Seating (Stove, Refrigerator, Microwave
Beroom with Queen Sized Bed and LCD Television
Bathroom With Clawfoot Tub/Shower
Front Entry - Gated Parking
Exterior Photo of 53 Hasell (c. 1839)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Charleston, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonnie201...
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location is Everything”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
4
people found this review helpful

This unit is in the heart of Charleston. You can walk to the historic districts, to great restaurants and to a grocery store nearby. Location is everything and this unit has it. Off street secured parking is included and we only used our car for out of the area excursions.

We found the one bedroom apartment to be comfortable and well furnished. The unit has everything you would need for a "home" away from home which gave us the option for home meals.

Patty went out of her way to adjust to our check-in schedule and was very accommodating returning to us items left at the apartment.

I cannot say enough how much we enjoyed the apartment and Charleston. It was a very enjoyable and relaxing visit. Lots of things to do and excellent restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJTOH
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Charming, cozy, convenient & clean”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We spent five nights here over the Thanksgiving holiday. Patty welcomed us on arrival and quickly responded to everything we needed. The property is beautifully decorated, very clean and adequately sized for 2 people. The kitchen has everything you'd want, but with so many great restaurants within a few blocks, we didn't cook at all. The dedicated parking is a little tight when the adjacent space is full, but given the parking situation in Charleston, off street parking is a real plus. We were not able to use the open porch, because the weather turned unseasonally cold. A new heating unit was not functioning properly, but I am sure it is fixed by now. Tip: you might want to bring slippers, because the wearing of shoes indoors is discouraged to preserve the lovely wood floors (I had some with me, but my spouse did not). The location is terrific, one of my favorite neighborhoods in Charleston. We look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Heating was not working
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review. We did get our heating checked - and it was a compressor gone bad even though the unit was only a few months old. We were glad it was replaced under warranty and appreciate your adapting to the colder temps. Look forward to seeing you again - and you deserve a free night. I've made note in my records; however, don't hesitate to remind me! Kindest regards - Patty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1LoveItal...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful Condo within a block of Market”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful Condo. Patty is wonderful and makes sure you have everything you need! I have allergies and she went out of her way to make sure there was no problems with feathers and cleaning with special allergy cleaning agents. It Is the perfect size and within walking distance of everything downtown. We would highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
featman
Brooklyn, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The way to go”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

As advertised! We had a wonderful experience there. All the comforts of home...and it was our first experience with a claw tub! Patricia had flowers and wine for us when we arrived. Our car was tucked away nice and secure behind this historic building that was near everything. Wouldn't have to think twice about going back!
Richard, Brooklyn NY

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2013Sharo...
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Essence of Charleston!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Enjoyed our stay so very much! Our place was lovely and had such a Charleston feel to it! It was within walking distance to anywhere you would like to go. The owner was extremely personable and went over and above to make us feel welcome. The flat was well stocked with anything you would need and the bed was so comfortable, we slept like babies. I would definitely recommend it and would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm, comfort, and location
Liked least: That I could not stay longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$225
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing