We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“save your timie and your money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Door - CLOSED

The Green Door
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
missouri
Level Contributor
164 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“save your timie and your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

wow! we were certainly disappointed here. our first meal in the city of Charleston, sc. the place is not good at all. the food that we had was not good at all. poor quality and highly overpriced. oh well we tried it. it has been put together with materials out of a dumpster. in fact I told my wife I thought they went around to the nicer restaurants in Charleston and gathered up their left over food, mixed it all together and reserved it at the "green door". we certainly would not go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimandrosieMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    1
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poinciana, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Been there, done that, forget the tee shirt.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

My wife and I stopped in for a small dinner. The menu is strange food, but we were eating light so a grilled cheese sandwich with green tomatoes and bacon sounded great. The cheese was a spread that should be served with crackers, and the bread was burnt. To top it off, the tomatoes were pickled in a hot spice. The place came highly recommended, but we will not be going back. The service was very good and design was different.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I've been coming to Charleston for years and it has one of the best food scenes in the nation. However, I can't tell you how pleasantly blown away I was by The Green Door - you step off of Bay Street, and suddenly you are in Portland. Hip, fun waitstaff knows the menu inside and out & will steer you towards the best "off menu" offerings. Food is unlike any "fusion" I've seen before - it's Southeast Asia meets Lowcountry and holy cats, is it unbelievably good. The shortrib/mac & cheese roti is the stuff of dreams, as is the tots loaded with the best kimchi I've ever had outside of Korea, pimento cheese and hollandaise sauce. Beer & wine only, but with the ecclectic, interesting wine and beer list you'll be sure to find a new favorite. DO NOT MISS!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaytonaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Find this place and get the best meal ever! for Asian fusion & organic food lovers--don't miss it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was honestly one of the best meals I've ever had and I am dying to go back! I will say this, if you are into Asian or Asian-fusion food, organic local cuisine, intense flavors, then this place is for YOU! If you want plain and simple food, if you're a burger-n-fries buff who likes it reliably ordinary and is suspicious of anything out of the every-day, then go somewhere else. This is a menu full of imagination, intense and complex flavors, unusual combinations that work incredibly well. They use local, organic foods, with a list of their suppliers up on the board by the order window, if you want to check them out. They are inventive with spices and vinegars and fresh herbs and Asian sauces in various combinations to bring out the flavor of the food,--and yes, for the spud-lover, the fries and tater tots are crispy and very good, though for folks watching their calories, I'd recommend the incredibly delicious sauteed vegetables in a combo fish sauce (not too strong)/soy sauce/ hot sauce as a side dish. I had the chickpea burger with an egg added--had to ask them to cook the egg more, but they did so quickly and no problem-- with the sauteed vegies--DAMN good!! My hubby had the Chupacabra, which is grilled pork belly (like sidemeat/bacon, but thicker), which was absolutely SUPERB! For vegetarians the chickpea burger is a real delight, or the Mason Jar Salad or Lotus Noodle bowl--the staff here is really nice and willing to please, so if you are Vegan, I'm sure they would make adjustments to the menu if asked. The place is bright, clean and happy, filled with color and interesting knick-knacks, as well as being a great backdrop for photographs! They are attached to Big John's Bar next door, so when you finish you dinner (and beer if you like), walk through the side door to the bar to boogie off those calories! The front door really is green, and lit with a green light at night, but we missed it the first drive through, so just look for Big Johns on the corner. Open for Sunday brunch with lots of great selections, and until midnight on the weekends. I'm eager to go back and try more of their unique menu, and would highly recommend it to anyone who loves good food with a different little twist!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heart_of_Imladris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bichonandon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not much for vegetarians/vegans.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

This restaurant came up as a result in a search for vegetarian restaurants in Charleston, but the menu has few choices for vegetarians. I asked the server what a vegetarian might be able to eat, and he suggested a noodle dish, which "only has a little fish sauce." That's not vegetarian, Green Door.

I'm just not hipster enough to enjoy quirkiness that tries way too hard to be quirky. My husband's burger was bloody raw, so he was only able to eat the outside edges of the sandwich. My noodle dish was spiced to the extreme, and I do mean every extreme, not spicy hot. But definitely too spicy hot. It came with some type of pickled beets that would have made a great side dish, but only served to dye the little slices of what appeared to be dehydrated bread- which also fell victim to the soupy mess it was plonked into, so sadly could not even be eaten.

Total waste of my admittedly un-hipster $60, and hopefully will be gone next time we come to town.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bichonandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Door also viewed

Daniel Island, Charleston
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Daniel Island, Charleston
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing