We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good artisan pizza, reasonably priced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crust

Crust
Ranked #157 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$13
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Avarua, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good artisan pizza, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My daughter and I were very impressed by the James Island restaurant "Crust". We shared a "Bianca" pizza in a pleasant environment. The restaurant specialises in artisan pizza, and it lives up to that - the pizza here is very obviously made from scratch, and just enough for two people without feeling overfed. Friendly staff, very reasonable price-wise. Parking is apparently a perennial issue, as we had to make a few attempts before finding a parking place. But in Charleston, parking is always an issue.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chagebak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    37
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

what a pleasant surprise to find such great pizza on james island. i never go out for pizza anymore because i am always disappointed. heard place was great, and i was amazed about how great it was. i got the pizza with butternut squash on it. never would have thought, but what a pizza. can't wait to go back and try something else.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Permitonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Three times and crust is toast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Second try now.....and more disappointing than the first. Derby day and the place was jamming;unfortunately our waitress wasn't . It was somewhat disconcerting to have to request a GLASS for my 79 year old, slightly palsied friend when the beer bottle was plunked down in front of him. Had to order water, the pizza was burned, the beet and feta salad is uniquely uninspired for the price ( even with the 6 pistachios), and someone has reinvented the wings recipe to be hot sauce only. EVen the check was tardy, after the request, we were in full view of our girl as she chewed the fat at the bar for some 5 minutes.
One more try.....as i"m in the area often and want to try the gluten free pizza.....here's hoping! (* and will request a different waitperson--or perhaps a training seminar?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family dinner ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The pizza was very good. The fries in the basket were good. The Caesar salad was not as good as expected. There might have been anchovies in the salad dressing? It really had a fish taste. I have never had hard boiled egg in my Caesar salad before. I like eggs, but not sure if that was what made my salad different. My suggestion is pick a different salad.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
138 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sunday Night Where to Go??”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Everywhere we wanted to go were closed on a Sunday night not use to that. "Crust" was very good had to wait for a table but they have a really nice bar so not a big deal. Tried some of their specials from their board. Soup was good just needed a touch of salt & pepper, had the warm salad that was yummy never have we had an egg on asparagus, ordered the special veggie pizza. That was very good too. Def will be back & try a different pizza. Our waitress "Lindsay" was wonderful

Helpful?
Thank gizmo625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crust also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Crust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing