We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Dining Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anson Restaurant

Anson Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Anson Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Jasper, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Dining Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

During our first Charleston visit, my wife and I had chosen this restaurant from a tourist guide for an evening meal. After being seated and ordering a drink, a review of the menu revealed, much to our surprise, that this Restaurant was a sister to The Olde Pink House of Savannah, GA., where we had dined just a few days prior, and absolutely loved. That being said, we enjoyed a delightful meal, with good service amid a pleasant atmosphere. Not quite as high a standard as the aforementioned, but good enough to evoke a positive rating and comment that we would certainly visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wawbrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    137
    38
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

They were very accomodating, the atomosphere is very comfortable and inviting. The staff took great care of us and the food was excellent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

The intimate and quaint atmosphere was the best part. We had an immediate issue when a simple drink order (vodka and tonic) appeared as a totally different drink (with a brown tint). Waiter took it back to bartender and we watched the argument. Bartender then made the correct drink but clearly was not happy about it and made a very weak drink. We let it go. Food was average and price the same. The signature flounder dish was a danger. Bones everywhere. Should have been a filet. Spotty service on water and bread from busboy. Great location and nice hostess but the place just didn't do it for us. Lots of choices in Charleston and this would not be one of them in future.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jett137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My husband cooks better”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

As a southern belle that loves her food, I was eager to try this restaurant because of so many recommendations I received. I was devastatingly disappointed! I ordered under seasoned fried green tomatoes, their signature dish the crispy flounder, and Anson's grits. The flounder was not seasoned and extremely dry. The grits were barely ok. The only good thing was the bread and that was free! The place is definitely not worth the $100 average price per couple. If you're looking for good food in downtown Charleston, go to The Macintosh!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LPandChefB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, TN
Level Contributor
223 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Went here last night on a business meeting with about 30 others. The service was outstanding considering the amount of people in our group and the number of servers taking care of us. hi highly recommend the crispy flounder with an order of grits on the side. Fried okra for an appetizer made an outstanding meal. For those who want a good steak they had that too per others in our party.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Izzy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anson Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Anson Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing