We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Vodka for you!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gin Joint

Gin Joint
Ranked #135 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No Vodka for you!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Went to the Gin Joint before dinner. First..I know it's the GIN Joint and they do have lots of other types of alcohol..but no Vodka! The bar is quaint and conducive for cocktails. Service could have been better. As for the drinks...mixed drinks were very good..but if you're an "on the rocks" person like myself..don't expect a good pour..I felt like I was in Canada with the less than an ounce per drink.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    123
    37
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun times!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great cocktails. Service can be spotty at times but still a unique place. I enjoyed drinking Bourbon I had never heard of before. Visit at least once!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xandersm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Service is the only downfall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Loved the cocktails. Loved the food. We ate and drank here twice. Both times we were made to feel as if we were inconveniencing the staff. If the staff were friendly I would give a top rating.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank calmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super Cool Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Great unique cocktails. All alchol is pre-prohibition so no Vodka in this joint! Our server Jamie was friendly and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend a stop here for at least one drink.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerLily312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Neat place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This place serves "designer drinks", if you will at about 10 dollars a drink. They were fresh and tasty,however you might be waiting about 15-20 minutes to receive your drinks. Worth stopping at for a drink if in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gin Joint also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Gin Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing