We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra-ordinary for lunch”
Review of Cru Cafe

Cru Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Cru Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Located at 18 Pinckney Street, in a classic 18th century Charleston single-style home, Cru Café offers the best in upscale comfort food. Guests of the restaurant enjoy indoor and outdoor porch seating, gourmet comfort food, a wine list tailored to the varied menu and rich, satisfying desserts. It’s one of Charleston’s best kept secrets. Open for lunch and dinner Tuesday through Saturday.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Extra-ordinary for lunch”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The lunch special, a Black Forest Ham sandwich, was a wonderful meld of flavors. It was obviously the creation of a talented chef. The truffle and shaved Parmesan fries made an excellent side. Our reserved table was ready, and the staff was efficient and pleasant. It is a small, busy place, so it is somewhat noisy, but all in all a good ambiance unless one wants an intimate dining experience. Recommend reservations, even for a late lunch. We reserved for 1:30 pm and the place was still packed on a weekday in December.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HHIslander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,765
    464
    94
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path, but worth the walk!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our B&B, and we knew nothing about it. It's definitely a bit of a walk away from the more touristy areas (it's actually near the horse barns for the carriage tours), but it was worth the walk. The food was excellent. It's in an old house, so if you don't look carefully, you can miss it. Since it's small, you may need reservations on the weekend, but since we were there during the week, we just walked in. Still, it filled up rapidly so call ahead if you want to make sure.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BSK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Charleston”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Chose Cru Cafe for a girl's day of shopping and lunch while the guys went to Patriot Point. This turned out to be my favorite meal during our three night visit to Charleston. Cru is a lively, busy restaurant located in a small house near the market. Menu is varied and creative and the service was helpful and attentive. We will definitely return on our next visit. We had made reservations ahead of time and were glad that we had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kap929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Choice in Charleston”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

After the fried Brie with figs and broccoli cheddar soup and truffle fries as starters, we didn't know how much better it could get. Then came the General Tao chicken entree and wrap, along with the chicken club sandwich, we knew we had made the perfect lunch choice in Charleston. Highly recommend it, but locals were trying to dissuade me from doing so since they want Cru to themselves.

Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Interesting flavors and fun atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We ate here the night before Thanksgiving, a busy night for the kitchen. The small dining room was full so we took the offer to sit at the chef' stable, a counter that overlooks the kitchen. It was great: both intimate enough for conversation and a chance to interact with the kitchen.
We had the Thai seafood risotto, a salad with marinated shrimp, an appetizer, a bottle if red wine and an orange creamsicle pice of cake for dessert. All of it was so flavorful. For two, we spent $100, which felt like a deal given the food, service and lively atmosphere.
Make reservations, even if it's the day you are going.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woodsprite44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cru Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cru Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing