We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good She crab soup but slow service”
Review of Southend Brewery & Smokehouse - CLOSED

Southend Brewery & Smokehouse
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Queen St
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were very excited that we were able to be seated outside when it would have otherwise been a long wait for a table inside. However, after a quick delivery of our drinks, our Appetizer never arrived. Our meals were a bit slow to come out and when they did finally arrive our server only then noted, you never received your Brie? He offered to rush it up. At that point we were starving and ready to eat our meal and told him to cancel it. The She crab soup and the Crabcakes and Fried green tomato's were very good. They also had a very tasty raspberry cheesecake served in a Mason jar for dessert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle R, Manager at Southend Brewery & Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for dining with us at Southend Brewery and Smokehouse. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food, and would like to apologize for the slow service you received on your visit. We would love for you to try us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

683 - 687 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Half our party enjoyed their food. The other half didn't. We went to Southend Brewery as a break from the heavy low country cuisine we'd been eating for a few days. It was good to get a more varied menu - they had low country and other items. It would seem the pizza and pasta were good but the low country dishes were not.

Thank CLC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle R, Manager at Southend Brewery & Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Southend Brewery. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the pizza and pasta, and will pass along the information about our low country themed meals. We hope that you will try us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Good atmosphere....Southend is located in an old historic building that comes with a very interesting history. The food is good, I would go back. We all shared appetizers and had a few drinks. The hushpuppies were delicious, so were the chicken wings. The prices are a little high, however most places are in Charleston.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 0415_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle R, Manager at Southend Brewery & Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Southend Brewery. We are glad you enjoyed your cuisine and hope that you will come back and see us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I usually make a point to stop in here for dinner when in Charleston. The beers they brew on premisis are good. Food is always tastey with good sized portions. Atmosphere and location are good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CEMike1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle R, Manager at Southend Brewery & Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

We are pleased to hear that you make it a point to stop at Southend Brewery whenever you are in town. We are so glad you enjoy the cuisine and beers. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Like most of Charleston's restaurants, this place was a little pricey. ($18+/entree) We went to try the beer but ended up staying to eat. We ordered the beef brisket and the crab cake entrees. They were both delicious! We also enjoyed a beer flight (great way to sample all the beers before making an order). Overall, I thought all the beers were very smooth, even the stout. Definitely would go again!

Thank LeahDB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle R, Manager at Southend Brewery & Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for dining with us at Southend Brewery. We are pleased that you enjoyed your food and sampling the beers. We look forward to serving you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southend Brewery & Smokehouse also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing