We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Library Restaurant - CLOSED

Library Restaurant
Price range: US$6 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Cross street: East Bay
Description: Our French Quarter Bistro Breakfast is served every morning beginning at 7 am. We have discontinued dinner service at this time.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The atmosphere made the experience. The Library is small and sweet, a perfect couples retreat if you enjoy quiet and traditional (which we love). Broken up into several rooms, we truly felt that we were in a fine home dining room rather than a hopping restaurant. Lovely. The food was good, not incredible, but solid and met our expectations. We could hear each other talk. We will go again,

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoBoysMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“EH”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Middle of the line food with top of the line prices. better choices in Charleston

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank proudrepublican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A SETTING TO REMEMBER....PRICES TO FORGET”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Llibrary has well appointed tables, lighting and an affable staff. The food has a French flair and is good. Although the food and atmosphere are decent, the costs are really out of sight...My companion had the scallop entree...3 scallops. It was beautifully presented but way too pricey. I had the snapper entree; it was expensive. Instead of bread, you are served a large cinnamon popover. It was great, but after a few bites, I really wished for another one. It was never offered. My Restaurants.com $25 gift certificate was a way to cut the cost, but my bill for just entrees and one drink apiece was almost $75....

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ILLENE99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A view without allergy friendly foods”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The view from the restaurant was lovely, but they couldn't accomodate my food allergies. They actually sent us off to find a different place to eat. (GF/TN/PN allergies beware)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mama2potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
184 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A costly but worthy meal, great for speical occasions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We went on a weeknight at 530pm and there was very few people there. The staff was terrific and we were very well taken care of while dining. The steaks were great and it is a good anniversary or date night location. Its a very short walk to waterfront park, or to the bars in East Bay St.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlestonResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Library Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Daniel Island, Charleston
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Daniel Island, Charleston
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing