We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of 39 Rue de Jean

39 Rue de Jean
Reserve with OpenTable
39 Rue de Jean is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 946 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Located in historic downtown Charleston , SC , 39 Rue de Jean is a refined French cafe and bar offering the best in classic Brasserie cuisine. The creations of our culinary team pay homage to the classic brasserie cuisine that inspired vehemently loyal Parisians. Guests of 39 Rue de Jean enjoy indoor/outdoor patio seating, cocktails and a predominantly French wine list blended with a selection of our steward's favorites.39 Rue de Jean offers a private dining room that can be transformed to host professional gatherings or celebratory affairs, accommodating up to 200 guests. This unique space, overlooking Upper King Street, features vaulted ceilings, exposed brick and a private entrance
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Found this place by accident and we had a wonderful evening here. Fantastic mussels. Great wine list. Ultra fun bar staff. Genuine hospitality. Cannot wait to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thenexttopchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhittneyP, Marketing Manager at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear thenexttopchef,

We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable experience with us recently at 39 Rue de Jean. We greatly appreciate your kind words, and thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Charleston!

Best,

Angela S.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 693 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We tried to have dinner here on a Saturday night, but were too late to get a reservation. So, we decided to just go, sit at the bar, and eat there. It was great! The food was very good, there were well-priced wines, and the bartender was great. There's a parking lot right across the street with very reasonable prices, and that's a big plus in Charleston. We'll go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhittneyP, Marketing Manager at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Rosecj,

We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable dining experience with us recently at 39 Rue de Jean. We truly appreciate your kinds words and review, and look forward to hosting you again soon!

Best,

Angela S.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Found this little spot for lunch right beside the visitors' center. Atmosphere was very reminiscent of a bistro in Paris as was the food. Lunch was delicious. Wine list was impressive both by the glass and the bottle. Service was friendly and efficient. Prices were moderate. Outside patio available to enjoy the warmth of Charleston in the Spring.

1  Thank Ed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhittneyP, Marketing Manager at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Ed F,

We are thrilled that you had a pleasant dining experience with us at 39 Rue de Jean recently. We truly appreciate your kind words and review, and look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit Charleston.

Best,

Angela S.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We've traveled extensively and often order the mussels on the menu -- whether we're in France, Belgium, the Chespeake Bay of Maryland, or in downtown Charleston ! These were among the best we've ever had ! Service was friendly and well-trained. Ambience was pleasant, the place was packed, but it wasn't the lease bit noisy. We enjoyed every aspect of our meal and would definitely visit Rue de Jean again, should we return to downtown historic Charleston.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hope Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhittneyP, Marketing Manager at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Hope Susan B,

Thank you for your kind words! We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable dining experience with us at 39 Rue de Jean. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review, and we look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to the Holy City.

Best,

Angela S.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had high expectations based upon comments from customers exiting here the night before we did. The space was a very open space lacking the intimacy a bistro would traditionally have. Service was very friendly. We started with some lovely Sancerre, split a Caesar salad. My husband ordered the rabbit, based upon the server's recommendation, and I ordered the boulliabase. Both were only good, not great. I had asked for it gluten free & it arrived with bread. The waiter was quick to rectify the situation and replaced the order right away, but I guess this. Was just not meant to be. The boulliabase had a broth that was more of a tomato purée than a broth. For dessert they did make a perfect Creme Brulle which we shared.

Thank Lcquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 39 Rue de Jean also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to 39 Rue de Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing