We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food at this Hole-in-the-Wall”
Review of Dixie Supply Bakery & Cafe - CLOSED

Dixie Supply Bakery & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
817 reviews
478 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Excellent Food at this Hole-in-the-Wall”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Yes it is a bit of a dive and yes the woman taking the orders is clueless but the food is excellent. The duck BLT and the shrimp BLT were both very tasty and unique. A real find in a great food city. If you are a DDD fan do stop in.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fondue4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    176
    71
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tucked away- FIND IT!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Shrimp and grits amazing, tomato pie amazing. LOVED IT. Not a lot of seating indoors or out, but you can make it work. All the food coming out looked terrific. Nom nom

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvtravelAmherst_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Dive with excellent food”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

While on a recent trip to Charleston, my wife and I decided to try this place for lunch. A few months ago we saw it on an episode of Diners, Drive-Ins & Dives, and it was exactly as advertised: It's a small dive with just a few tables, located 1 block South of the covered markets on Market Street. It shares a strip mall with a Lil' Cricket convenience store, so we didn't expect much -- but the food is top-notch. My wife had a grilled shrimp & green tomato sandwich and I had fried chicken on a biscuit, smothered in gravy that was absolutely to die for. Wonderful!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“LOVED this place”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great food - expectedly slow service, great menu, love the feel of the place. Food was a bit salty...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JERomano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OMG--Chicken and waffles!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Spicy fried chicken tenders on top of airy waffle, with savory peach chutney and syrup ----I could eat that every morning of the rest of my life!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dusterdave173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dixie Supply Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing