We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Soups and so much more”
Review of Five Loaves Cafe

Five Loaves Cafe
Ranked #23 of 983 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Eclectic cuisine focusing on locally sourced foods, vegetarian friendly and gluten free menu. Healthy menu with anti-biotic free meats and 15 years of success.
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Charming, friendly, and full of delightful surprises. The soup sampler delivers three small cups brimming with the daily specials - and they are truly special. Tomato with she crab, mexican chicken chile, carrot with ginger. Then choose a half salad or half sandwich, which would be a full serving elsewhere. Salads are marvelous, too. Low key, high value. Great for vegan, vegetarian and carnivorous company!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DeegieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murphyeve, Owner at Five Loaves Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

I appreciate the positive review very much. Please come again.

casey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

My first visit: downtown Charleston location. Very affordable and an outstanding menu. Had the Pumpkin Seed Salmon, unbelievable!!! Service was depot on.

Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

I chose the vegan entree--Thai Coconut Hot Pot which was absolutely delicious. My husband who is a committed carnivore had the Bistro Steak and was delighted with his dinner as well. The food is healthy, high quality and reasonably priced. They also have plenty of gluten-free options. If you want a really tasty meal and have dietary restrictions (or you're dining with someone who does) you won't go wrong coming here. For that matter, if you don't have dietary restrictions, this is still a great place to eat. We came here while vacationing in Charleston and I'm so glad we did.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We were a family of 6 with small kids, this place was close to our B&B it was great! Food was very tasty, girls were friendly, prices very reasonable. If u were not looking for this place u may not find it as it is down a side street, Find it, it was great!
They Also had a coffe shop & fresh smoothie place attached to side, which was also great. Try it out, definitely recommend this. We will be back next visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KdkPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murphyeve, Owner at Five Loaves Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thanks so much for your kind remarks and glad you enjoyed our juice bar.

casey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We happened upon this corner spot and were so pleased we returned twice more during our mont in Charleston. Where else do you get FIVE unique and delicious soups, two creative sandwiches, and two tasty salads to choose from as daily specials? There are regular menu items, too, but we always tried the specials of the day and were never disappointed. The soup sampler, with three small cups, is a favorite. Breads for sandwiches were fresh and tasty, and salad dressing choices are varied. Creative combinations! Allie was our favorite server, very welcoming and helpful, but all the servers work together well to keep everything moving smoothly.

Thank TravelPromises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murphyeve, Owner at Five Loaves Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thanks so much for the review. Will pass along to Allie.

casey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Loaves Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Five Loaves Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing