We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Charleston”
Review of TBonz Gill & Grill

TBonz Gill & Grill
Ranked #247 of 971 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: TBONZ WEST ASHLEY: temporarily closed for renovations as of August 20th. We will reopen in two weeks! Our name says we're famous for tender, juicy steaks. But TBonz also serves a complete menu to whet any appetite. From fresh, local seafood to low country specialties, customers will savor the flavor in our casual atmosphere. All of our TBonz Gill & Grill steakhouse restaurants feature a family-friendly dining room. Our kidz menu for children 12 and under offers small portions of classic children's favorites.Our daily Happy Hour in the bar attracts locals and tourists alike. Enjoy one of our award-winning Homegrown Ales on tap that complement any meal. We highly recommend our signature appetizer Tommy's Texas Cheese Fries Deluxe.
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Wanted a steak the first night we arrived. Prices were ridiculous in Charleston, THEN we found TBonz! Great steak at a great price. Service was excellent! Everything we put in our mouth was delicious! So good that we ate at TBonz twice during our short visit in Charleston. Will definitely recommend to friends coming to Charleston & will be back again. Best prime rib ever!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rdr1rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at TBonz Gill & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

We are happy that you found us! Thank you so much for choosing TBonz and for writing a review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the steak and the prices, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again on your next trip to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

First lets start with Maria. She was our server and she was fantastic. A true representation of southern charm and hospitality. Kind genuine and made great recommendations.

The food: started with deep fried dill pickle chips. Fantastic taste and value but almost filled myself up. Great but brown ale from the restaurant itself. We both ha a Thai shrimp entree on cheesie grits with fried green tomatoes. yummy! The entire staff was great and it is located next to the market and half block from the carriage tour depots. Stop in. You won't be sorry

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Optimistic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at TBonz Gill & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for choosing TBonz Gill & Grill and for sharing your experience! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the food and the service. We hope you'll visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a must have for College of Charleston who want to explore the market at night with friends. The food here is packed with soul and did account for about half of my freshman fifteen. I love this place, and couldn't say enough positive things about it.

Thank Kenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at TBonz Gill & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Kenny,
Thank you for joining us at TBonz! We are thrilled to hear that every time you visit you have a great experience. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and recommend TBonz to others. We hope you'll join us for a meal again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I wanted a nice meal in a Sports Bar (March Madness). My sister wanted a great meal, so she was skeptical about the location. We both hit the jackpot. Great sports action and even better chow and drinks. We both got the ribeye, which was perfect, and I got enough basketball to last the weekend. The service was fine and the prices were quite reasonable, give the restaurant's location in the historic district. I'll return to TBonz's.

Thank OpaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at TBonz Gill & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for choosing TBonz as your March Madness destination and for writing a review. We are pleased to hear your experience met your expectations for food, drink, and atmosphere. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We first went to T-bonz 20 years ago when we lived in West Ashley. We would go almost weekly as the prices were fair and the quality of the food was good. Stopped today on our way to Middleton Place and oh what a surprise! The carpet (if you can call it that) is black and you can almost make out the patterns of the carpet at edges of the booths. It has to be the same industrial carpet as when we first went there in 1994. The booths and decor ar exactly the same too. The food was bland as can be but still cheap. I can't understand how the health department can allow the unclean carpet here. The bathrooms are falling apart too. The faucet on the sink came off in my wife's hand. It has the look like it will be closing soon.

3  Thank Laceytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at TBonz Gill & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for dining with us at TBonz Gill and Grill and thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. We will be reviewing your comments closely, as our goal has always centered around providing exceptional food, paired with an inviting and warm atmosphere. Clearly, your recent experience did not display our attention to these goals, but we would still love another chance to serve you again soon and we thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TBonz Gill & Grill also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to TBonz Gill & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing