We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great evening of jazz” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mezz

Mezz
Attraction details
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
132 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great evening of jazz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We went there for the jazz, and were surprised by a really excellent meal as well. A bit on the pricy side, so if you're looking for a value meal, probably not the best place to go. There just didn't seem to be that many live music places in downtown.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    3
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent and intimate music-dance venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I stumbled upon Mezz as a result of having lunch at Sermet's Restaurant. Mezz is the lounge on the upper level of Sermet's. The night we went, the Charleston Latin Jazz Collective (http://www.charlestonlatinjazz.com/) was playing there. We are told they typically play two sets, one from 8-10PM and the second one from 10PM. In reality they played for about 90 minutes but the music was wonderful. There is a small dance floor in front of the stage and we were able to dance to the Latin beat along with a few other couples who showed off their moves.

The lounge is also an eating area and food comes off of the Sermet's menu so the venue provides great food, beautiful live music and a space to dance. What more can one ask for?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SelectTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Go for the music, endure the rest.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

It is always hard to write a review like this. The Mezz is a place with so much potential. The listening room is wonderful and the quality of the music was top notch. The food was even ok though the place is clearly run by a jazz lover not a foodie. The problem is the service.

We made reservations 2 nights before and took particular care to make sure it was ok to bring our music loving kids. When we arriaved the hostess took a look atbus and feigned they had no reservation for us and then when we insisted, managed to seat us at the only table in the room with an obstructed view. We then waited 30 minuites to get drinks. I finally went to the bar and got them on my own.

The food is hit and miss. My wife's first course calamari dish was inedible, my peach champagne soup was just ok. The entrees were better.

The Mezz tries very hard to look classy. The table linnens and place settings are sophisticated but serve only to cover up deep flaws in what matters.

I would go back for the music for sure but like the previous reviewer stated, I would go somewhere else for dinner first. And this a sad thing. I love the concept of a classy jazz venue with food that speaks to the amazing cuisine of this city. However, unless something changes, the Mezz listening room is, I fear, destined to become just another noisy jazz bar.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bmp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great music!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

This 2nd floor, small listening room has great acoustics and the group playing on a recent night was an excellent quintet of drummer (music director), piano (guest-talented 21 year old performer and composer/arranger), bass (a regular, talented), sax (a regular, talented, composer/arranger), and trumpet (a regular, talented, composer/arranger). Nothing but good things to say about the music.

Unfortunately, the restaurant staff doesn't measure up which took away a little of the magic of the evening. The host staff was uninterested and disengaged. The manager was totally disengaged behind the bar and the servers were taking orders, serving, getting drinks etc A little disorganized to say the least. It would be nice to have a snack menu to go along with drinks if you aren't there for dinner.

Anyway, definitely go for the music and put up with the rest. We were going to go back for dinner but after seeing the apathy of the staff, decided we'd eat elsewhere and only go for the music.

Small cover charge-well worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susiebeeonmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mezz also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Mezz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing