We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty food, but lousy service”
Review of Olympik Deli

Olympik Deli
Ranked #479 of 916 Restaurants in Charleston
Restaurant details
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Very tasty food, but lousy service”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Met some friends for lunch at this place. The service was dreadful from the first moment; the server appeared to be hungover or had an off day. The server took a while to take orders and did not check up with us during the meal, especially at the moment when the bills were delivered. It was not obvious or made clear if she was going to take our payment at the table or the counter. After 5 minutes of waiting, we proceeded to the counter.

It's a good thing though that it didn't impact the food, which was quite authentic, very fresh, and really delicious. Two of us got meat gyros and the other two got meat plates. Just enough food to fill us up and with very reasonable prices. It is a bit hard to find from US 17 as it's tucked back in a shopping center, but if you're in the mood for Greek, it's definitely worth a stop. Just hope you get a server who's on their game.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beaufort-tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I discovered this place a few years ago with some friends. At the time it was located in a little house on Hwy 17. They recently moved to a new location in a strip mall down the road. I was a little apprehensive about the new place, but I needed some Greek potatoes. While the old location had the feel of going to your Yiayia's house, the new location is filled with clean lines and blue walls. They kept a lot of things from the old location, ie the shutters on the walls, the tablecloths, etc. In the new space, they fit right in. It still feels homey, but in a more stylish way.

As for the food, it was delicious as always. I always have the hardest time deciding on my meal. Dolmas, souvlaki, gyros, spanakopita, moussaka, pastitsio. Thankfully, they have sampler plates. And I always save room for desert. Baklava, kataifi, almond cookies and so much more.

Beer and wine selection is limited, but I come to eat, not drink. They offer a few greek beers along with retsina, and an alpha hellenic pairs perfectly with souvlaki in my book.

In short, this is an amazing restaurant. I highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mlasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Greek Restaurant, West of the Ashley”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Mr Ali has been serving customers for more than 27 years in Charleston. He recently moved from above address, down the street into a lovely ,spotless location. Rare do you find a place, where everyone really does know your name, but here you get that personal touch! The menu has many, many things to choose from! Over the years, I've tried them all! The servings are generous, and the staff are all very friendly. If you like sweets- This is the place for you- Mr Ali bakes his wonderful confections daily. You may also order cakes in advance for those special days- They are really spectacular looking!(also reasonable!)
When you feel like going where the locals go-and everyone knows your name- Stop by here, you won't regret it!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Parkdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“bad service”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

gave this place a 2nd chance and they blew it again....1st time the cheese steak was bad and they forgot the blue cheese for the wings....this time they asked dressing for the wings and gave me the wrong one and i had to walk back and get the right one and told him my other experience and he said"well at least you got a sauce this time"
these guys have no business selling food in this town

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesublimino
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Historic & Ghostly”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This whole area is a must see for everyone intrigued by history and the unknown.

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
Thank chesublimino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olympik Deli also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Olympik Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing