We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take you back in time”

MoonPie General Store
Ranked #7 of 80 Shopping in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
West Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Take you back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We spend so much time in this store. I believe we stopped in there everyday while we were in Charleston. Even though MoonPie's are not from Charleston it's a great place to stop in and go back in time. The have all kinds of candies that I remember as a kid. They also have mini moonpies that I had to grab a few boxes to take back home.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarySargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

It was a great place to go and visit!
Look forward to going back and getting a rc cola and a moonpie! The kids loved it there as well!

Helpful?
Thank Snubbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nostalgic Store”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Bought a gift duo of RC Cola and Moon Pie (gift) and assortment of mini moon pies (more gift giving). Also had pictures (in back of store) beside the yellow moon sign-Fun. Good pricing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grasshopper747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Great place for all kinds of moon pies. Bought quite a few, hehe. Also other candies available, old time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lakegirl523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What Fun !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Located adjacent to the Market Street shoppes, this fun little diversion was a trip down memory lane; and the chance to get some of the new flavors was nice. Even bought the t-shirts. Plan to go back for the ice cream! You will be surprised how small it is.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ValpoInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MoonPie General Store also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to MoonPie General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing