We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic BBQ!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melvin's Barbecue

Melvin's Barbecue
Ranked #210 of 895 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: James Island
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic BBQ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Melvins offers a wide variety of good southern cooking, HUGE portions at a great price!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katieleigh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    24
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Firenze
Level Contributor
111 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Some of the best fast food in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I enjoy their barbecue--shredded pork (mustard based) or chicken (white meat--red sauce) and hot dogs. Hamburgers and cheeseburgers are delicious; tasty, beefy meat. Southern vegetables are excellent. This isn't fine dining, but who needs FIG for lunch!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FilipoBambini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest City,NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We ate a Melvin's twice in 4 days while at Folly Beach. It's worth the short drive as most of Folly's restaurants are just glorified bars. Love the family atmosphere at melvin's. We had BBQ and the fixins the first time we ate there. No crumbs were left. The second time we ate one of the burgers touted as "the best" by Emeril Lagosse. The burger didn't disappoint. Can't wait to get back down and we'll for sure try Melvin's again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Southern style BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were looking for a place that served South Carolina style BBQ (dry with vinegar styled sauce). We found it at Melvin's. We had pork & brisket with the yellow sauce and it was excellent. The fried okra was also excellent. The onion rings were not very good, way too much breading and greasy. The other sides (fries & slaw) were decent. But you come to a place like this for the meat and those didn't disappoint!

Outside seating is good for those, like us, with their doggies.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryltasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willimantic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
145 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The best pulled pork ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Wow, I don't know how to describe how fantastic the pulled pork sandwich is. I got the Big Joe and sweet tea. This included the biggest onion ring i've ever seen and a ton of fries. I've never had mustard-based BBQ sauce before, and now it's my new favorite. This place is incredible!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TracyM0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melvin's Barbecue also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Melvin's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing