We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlights of the City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Classic Carriage Works, LLC

Classic Carriage Works, LLC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Classic Carriage Works, LLC. is Charleston's premier provider of high quality carriage tours and carriage service. We hold our customers, horses and employees in the highest regard - taking the utmost care of each. Our tours are personalized by the tour guides and tailored to the interest of the passengers as questions are asked. Take one of our tours and see the difference!
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
237 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Highlights of the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The carriage rides are the best way to see and learn some of Charleston in a short time, and its so relaxing! The guides are very knowledgeable of the city and that's what you pay to hear. You will cover a portion of the city as the carriage dispatcher assigns one of 5(?) sections to the driver.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank going5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    82
    15
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Marvelous Stories!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We splurged for the smaller carriage that was just our 3 family members plus the guide, and it was well worth the expense! While I have already forgotten our wonderful guide's name, I will always remember the fascinating historical details that he shared with us about his beautiful city. The slow pace of the horse-drawn carriage (the horse's name was Bill!) was just right for learning about the various structures and their eccentricities as well as the historic events that took place in each. The small group allowed us to ask questions, change topics, follow our own pet passions, etc. without regard to any other passengers' interests, and it was great. As a fellow tour guide in our home town, I really appreciated the thorough knowledge & flexibility of our guide.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank schonstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadview heights
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool but crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Overall, the guide and the info he passed along were interesting but we felt the carriage was a bit too crowded to really enjoy it. We were pretty squished (4 adults in a row). I also thought he talked a bit too much about the horse and not enough background about Charleston. I would have preferred a quick overview about what we were about to see. Once we got to the sites, he knew his stuff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Fallon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, General Manager at Classic Carriage Works, LLC, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our company. We strive to provide our customers with the best service possible, and I am sorry that your recent tour did not live up to your expectations. Our large carriages can hold up to 16 people, and on a busy holiday weekend the carriages tend to go out full, so yes, we do put four people on each row, as does every other company in town. We actually have some of the widest seats in the industry, so you actually had more room on our carriage than you would have had with our competitors. If space is an issue, private carriages are always an option. As for too much information about the horse, I have a hard time faulting the driver for that. Our horses are our friends and co workers, and they can often be the star of the show. The love and care we provide for our horses is something that we take great pride in, which shows in the fact that we have the best looking horses in the city. The drivers always have their favorites, and they love sharing stories about their quirks and odd habits with our customers. Not only that, but our passengers always want to know about the horses, so many drivers spend the first few minutes of the tour introducing them before getting into the history of the city. It is part of the experience of taking a carriage tour. I have heard tours go out from other companies where the driver says nothing about the horse other than their name, and I have always found that to be a bit odd. We are proud to have a wonderful group of historians that love Charleston and love driving horses, and they are eager to share their knowledge and enthusiasm with visitors to our fair city. I am sorry you thought the tour was not quite up to par, but I am proud that our drivers have such an attachment to their animals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun and Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

An unanticipated change in our flight schedule kept us from joining the tour we had paid for, but the tour company allowed us to take any tour we wanted the next day. We just walked up, showed them our receipt and waited about 7 minutes for the next trolley. The trolley was comfortable and the guide was well-informed and had many anecdotes to share with us along the way. We learned a lot about the area of Charleston we visited and had fun doing it. Do it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were given a tour by Greg and Bill (the horse). Greg is a veteran tour guide and seems to truly love sharing his experiences and knowledge. We toured the homes by the battery and were impressed by the breadth of his knowledge and experience. He could be hard to hear/understand due to traffic noise and when he had to look away to guide Bill. Would recommend this tour company to anyone looking to learn about Charleston History.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jengnann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Classic Carriage Works, LLC also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Classic Carriage Works, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing