We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palmer's Pinckney Inn
Ranked #18 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Palmer Pinckney Inn. The Inn is very conveniently located, close to downtown and the Market. The innkeepers, Cindy and Connie, are very pleasant and helpful - we enjoyed talking with them. We also enjoyed sitting on the porch, overlooking the neighboring streets and, yes, the horse barn. The smell, while noticeable outside, was never a problem inside.
The Bombay Room was fine. There is also a terrific restaurant, Cru Cafe, located just across the street.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    36
    19
    21
    9
See reviews for
16
102
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
171 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My husband and I had purchased a living social deal for this. We were finally able to use it and stayed for a weekend. We visit Charleston often and have stayed at several different places. We knew this place was near the stables and if you know Charleston then you know that you would smell the horses literally anywhere you are. So the smell of the of the stables was not an issue and you certainly do not smell this inside. It is in a great location if you can get over the stables. You are close to the market and a lot of the good restaurants are all in walking distance. We got there and the parking is free. Free parking in CHarleston is rare and great that they offer this. It is difficult to get into the parking spots. You must go thru this narrow drive and then do a 3 point turn or maybe a 10 point turn and weasel your way into the spot. I just would not want to be the 4th car there because I am not sure what they would do. We get there and we get shown the place. The kitchen is a hot mess but there are plenty of options for snacking and for breakfast. They have continental style breakfast unless you want to walk 20 to 25 minutes to their sister inn. We get to the parisian room and it is a decent size with a nice King size bed. The king size bed was comfy. The shower was tiny. I would say like 2 1/2 feet by 2 1/2 feet. My husband had a hard time moving around in there. We heard your typical noise that you would hear if you were staying in a hotel. THe thing that borthered me was when we got a sheet of paper with instructions and check out information it had asked for a $20 tip. I feel that that is tacky and rude. It said no obligation but they have put it in your head. I thought that was extreme considering all they did was make up my bed after my first night. They did not change out my towels or anything. I could stay at a hotel and and they would do far more and expect far less. I just thought it was tacky and it bothered us. Another thing was that when we got there, we got there with the last two couples. The innkeeper was like once I get everyone settled I can leave early. This was around 2 and it says that they in the office until 5 or 6 to help out the guests. I thought this was rude and tacky as well. I can understand wanting to get off early but don't let me know about it. The bed and breakfast was not bad but it would not be first place to stay. THe price would have to be right. It definately has location and parking going for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilone2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We went to Charleston, the last weekend of August. We purchased this thru Living Social and it was great - I would say we could not have been more pleased. The house was small, but very charming (as a B&B should be). The Parisian room was lovely. Connie, the inkeeper was wonderful and very helpful in recommending places to go and see. They have free, onsite parking, which was also a big plus in Charleston. We could walk almost anywhere from their location right of East Bay. They had a fully-stocked kitchen with snacks, soft drinks and all kinds of beverages and a nice assortment of pastries, coffee and danish for breakfast. We opted to walk over and have breakfast at the Palmer Home, which sits directly on the Battery. Francis Palmer, who owns and lives at the house, and her staff were so wonderful! They prepared a lovely full Southern breakfast each morning and a nice wine and cheese reception in the late afternoon. We loved sitting out on the porch and watching the water. It was a wonderful weekend and we plan to come back again and this time try to stay in the Palmer Home.

Room Tip: We slept in the Parisian Room, but I am sure the others are equally as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton SC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We booked this B&B thru Living Social and truly looked forward to our stay. Upon arrival we see and smell that we are right next to the horse stables for the horse and carriage tours. Fortunately you could not smell this while inside. We enter the inn to find the messiest reception area and realize there is no lounge area for their guests. The manager was extremely nice (Cindy) and showed us to our room. We were assigned the Cottage Room...extremely small and not appealing at all. We were told that we could go for wine and cheese to the Palmer Inn which was a 15 min walk. We took pedi-cab since it was really hot and humid. Lovely inn overlooking the harbor...sorry we weren't staying there. Our first night was not good...very noisy area...then at 6:30am garbage trucks were on street for about half hour. We went to Palmer Inn (by car this time) for a great breakfast. Decided to check out a day early from Pinckney...

Room Tip: Didn't see others but definitely not the Cottage Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was our first bed and breakfast experience as well as our first time in Charleston. Cindy and Connie the innkeepers were friendly, informative, and very helpful. We stayed in the Cottage Room and enjoyed breakfast each morning looking over the Charleston Harbor at the Palmer Home. The swings at the waterfront park are fabulous and we enjoyed our stroll through the market. We took a carriage tour with Old Towne Carriage Co. (the one closest to Palmer's Pinckney Inn). The tour was very informative and a great way to view the city and learn the history behind many of the sites. This was a great experience and allowed us to be within walking distance of all of the sites, restaurants, and shops. Great experience and would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarbyElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

We had a really great time there. We parked the car and didn't get back in until we left. The Inn is close to everything and both innkeepers, Cindy and Connie, were very welcoming and helpful. The kitchen was open to us and well-stocked with snacks, drinks and breakfast goodies. Our room was small but comfortable. It is a small older inn but well worth the visit. We will be back!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lkerekes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
199 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here on a Living Social deal. We had stayed at the main building (Palmer House) on Bay some years ago. This location is right smack behind the stables near the Merchant open air market. Terrific for getting to everything. Rooms ar very nice (with TV) and we had a nice stroll in the morning down to the Palmer House for breakfast (included).

Room Tip: Actually, up or downstairs is fine. It's very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6KenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Indigo Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
969 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,739 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,829 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer's Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer's Pinckney Inn

Property: Palmer's Pinckney Inn
Address: 19 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-2005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located right in the heart of downtown Charleston! Convenient for walking to shopping and dining spots. Pet friendly in 3 of our rooms! 4 rooms with kings size beds and working fireplaces. All private baths, 2 rooms with jacuzzi tubs. Access to kitchen, continental breakfast, refreshments available. Plus, homemade muffins, cookies and other goodies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palmer`s Pinckney Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing