We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great stay in a great location"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palmer's Pinckney Inn
Ranked #12 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I recently took a 5 night trip to beautiful Charleston on a recommendation of a friend. We stayed at the Palmer's Pinckney Inn right in the middle of downtown Charleston. I never checked out the reviews on TripAdvisor and if I had would probably would not have stayed there. Am I glad I didn't check. When I did finally check the reviews to say the least they were horrible. Nestled between 3 horse drawn carriage companies you will find this 200 year old, a little slanted, 5 bedroom B&B.The place has a new Innkeeper named Dawn and it shows. The rooms have all been freshly painted and updated and are very clean. Beds are made up daily, the trash is emptied and fresh towels are supplied. The king bed was very comfy and our room had a shower only but that was fine with us. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you will probably need from milk, juice, coffee (which is ready every morning), bagels, bread, fruit, butter, jams and jellies and yes even wine. The ice maker seemed to not be working quite right but a bag of ice that I supplied and the ice Dawn got worked fine all week. Some days we would return from our daily activities to find fresh baked cookies and one of my favorites homemade Bunt cakes, some of the best I've ever tasted. Even had fresh baked danish one morning. The parking was limited and if you are not good at using mirrors you would probably have a tough time because you have to back in to the lot behind the B&B. Have to remember it was built for horse drawn carriages. So if you are renting a car rent something small Dawn was a great help with all her recommendations from where to eat, what beach to go to, tours we could take and just about any other questions we had about navigating around the city which to say the least was very easy and beautiful. The outside still needs a little TLC but by the looks of it that will happen soon. You know the old saying," Don't judge a book by it's cover". Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The two front rooms are right on the street and at times can be noisy in the early morning due to al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidB39653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinckney, Manager at Palmer's Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

David and Diane,
We are so glad that you found our little house. We really enjoyed meeting you both and hated to see you leave. This review is sooo awesome! You were the first people to stay in the Parisian Room after the renovation so I'm glad it measured up. We are continuing to clean and update the property and it looks like our efforts are showing in these last few reviews. We love our location, it makes it easy for our guests to enjoy the area without worrying about driving and parking..

Ashley, the Innkeeper at our sister property is responsible for the yummy pound cake. I personally can't stay out of the cookie dough she brings over.

We hope that you will visit us again. Charleston is an alluring location, were just happy to be located in such a great place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Palmer's Pinckney Inn was the perfect place to stay for a Charleston first timer. The staff was very hospitable and the room was a perfect mix of historic and modern amenities. The location is outstanding and is only minutes walk from downtown! I highly recommend staying there!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 762willl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinckney, Manager at Palmer's Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for your very nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and gave us such a nice recommendation. We hope that you will stay with us again when you return to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Kingsize bed, great characteristically southern room and property, very nicely located and friendly host.

The breakfast is do-it-yourself, but fully loaded. Perfect for the picky (like my girlfriend).

I would like to counter the horrible nasty and inaccurate review on this site. It is a charming most comfortable B&B, not a soulless Hilton.

We would recommend it to every romantic couple, looking for something special and affordable.

Kris and Laura

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisvanDriem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinckney, Manager at Palmer's Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you so much for this very nice review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we also enjoyed meeting you both. Glad you made it safely to your next destination.

We are very lucky to have such a great location, in the middle of the historic district on a quiet street. It makes it easy for our guest to enjoy our city without the hassle of driving or parking.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We recently stayed at Palmer's Pinckney Inn and had a great experience there. The Inn was mentioned in The New York Times in an article on how to experience Charleston on the cheap and it did not disappoint. The two Innkeepers were extremely helpful and provided us with great recommendations and information. We stayed in the Cottage Room which was charming, clean and well kept. The kitchen was always stocked with snacks and beverages and was tidy as well. We found the Inn to be ideally located in the heart of Charleston within a short walk of the market, restaurants, bars, and many other cultural amenities. We researched several other bed & breakfasts in Charleston and couldn't find anything even remotely close to the reasonable price of Palmer's Pinckney Inn. We were surprised to read some of the negative reviews on this site by a few previous guests; it sounds like many of their expectations were unreasonable for an affordable B&B and they would have been better suited at a high-end hotel or B&B. However, if you're looking for a modest bed & breakfast with value and charm, we would highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinckney, Manager at Palmer's Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you so much for this well written and thoughtful review.

We have been working hard to update and maintain this property and with this review we know we are headed in the right direction. Our new staff is up to date on what's going on around town and frequents the area restaurants to be able to give our guest assistance with recommendations and directions.

Charleston has so much to offer, it's hard to have a bad time here. The weekend you visited was a great weekend with our local boy Darius Rucker putting on a great show at the tennis center.

We hope you and your mom will plan a return trip. There's still a lot more to see!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

On a recent trip to Charleston, we spent a couple of nights at the Palmer Pinckney Inn. Built in the mid 1800's I don't really think much has changed in the house (plumbing & electricity added of course) which was not an issue for me. The king size bed was very comfortable and the a/c was working hard but didn't cool very well. Luckily we had a ceiling fan and also a small table top fan. If you're looking to be pampered this is not the place for you. As mentioned in previous reviews it is a do-it-yourself breakfast of cereal, coffee, fruit and granola bars. The location is great and it wasn't a problem for me being beside the horse stables. However, I do have two issues which really shouldn't be issues because the staff could easily solve them. First, the ice maker was apparently broken and there were only two ice trays. Staff could easily keep ice in the freezer by purchasing more trays and keeping the ice bin full or simply buy a bag of ice. Second, the shampoo/lotion that was in the bathroom had either been used by another guest and not disposed of or the bottles may have been being refilled and used by multiple guests. Yuck! The bed was made but the towels were not replinished (not a problem) and the trash was not taken out. Personally, if the only thing that's going to be done is to make the bed .......don't bother. Finally,I definately think this was absurd......at the bottom of the receipt in bold print there was a request for a tip with the amount filled in. A tip for what???

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2bncharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinckney, Manager at Palmer's Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write you review of the property. Since your visit we have made some drastic changes. We have hired a new manager whom has managed 5 star accommodations and has already made positive changes and updates at our property. We are truly sorry for your negative experience and would encourage you to call our new manager to discuss your experience first hand.

We now offer a small breakfast, have wine and snacks available for guest and have painted and updated the property.

There is no excuse for your towels not being replaced and the garbage not being removed, we can promise that if you gave us a chance the experience would be what you expect from a Charming Bed and Breakfast located in the heart of the #1 tourist destination in the country!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Where can I begin...we got there on Friday to a driveway that my car barely could get through. In addition to it being tight, the hedge was overgrown and it scratches the sides of your car. I arrived at 6pm and the keys were waiting outside. The building is unkempt and delapidated. The reception area (small little table in a corner) was empty and the kitchen a hot mess. We stayed in the Bombay room. The room was old, dirty, and HOT because the AC was not working. The sheets were stained and the comforter had white stains on it. (Hate to think what that could have been??) The plastering on the water-damaged, soiled ceiling was partly falling off and there was an AC vent missing. The walls and doors were dingy. Small tub in room, not Jacuzzi tub. We did not turn the jets on. Were afraid what would come out of them. You can sit outside if you like the smell of horse manure because the house is stuck smack in the middle of two of the horse carriage stalls. Called and left message complaining. Walked to the sister B&B they own, Palmer House, and left a written note there about the dissatisfaction. We spent the first three hours of our trip looking for another place to stay but Friday night everything was sold out. The next day, we received a call from Connie, and when we aired our complaints, we were confronted with aggression and defensiveness. She said if we didn't like it we could get in our car and drive back home. 5 minutes later I got a call from Frances Palmer, the owner of the bed and breakfast. She told me that there were rooms available at the Days Inn and that she wanted us to get off her property. She said that I would not be getting a refund since it was a Living Social voucher and that she didn't have anything to do with that and that Living Social had not even paid them. I had no choice to leave and go hunting for a hotel room near by. This place is a dump and I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy. BEWARE and stay away!! The only nice things about it was Audrey the inn keeper and the cook and his wife at the Palmer House who made the best grits I'd ever tasted.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jvecin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinckney, Manager at Palmer's Pinckney Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Since this review was posted we have hired a new manager. We have also painted all rooms and common areas and replaced all vents and hardware that was in need or replacement or repair. We were built in the 1800's!

We are located just one block from the Market and there is a horse barn next door, however at no time do we smell horse manure in our rooms.

We offer a small breakfast on-site or for $5 a person, you can go to our sister property and enjoy a full southern breakfast with a view of the Charleston Harbor. There is wine and light snacks available for our guests to enjoy at anytime of day.

I would hope that future guests would contact us directly to voice any negative comments and that we would be very open to suggestions handled in a professional manner and not the manner in which these guest handled their grievances. Disturbing other guest and ruining their experience will not be tolerated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were extremely disappointed by the this inn. Upon arriving, we were told " this is a casual inn. If you want toast, you can make it or if you want cereal we have a selection of boxes in the kitchen." This was not our idea of what a bed and breakfast should offer even on a continental breakfast. The worst part was our room. We were taken to the Bombay Room and the staff member told us this was their nicest room. The best thing about the room was good water pressure in the shower. There were major cracks in every wall, the AC vent in the ceiling was very loose, and looking up from the bed one can see huge brown water stained. The bedding was clean but the floor felt gritty and there was dirt all over the rugs. Our feet were dark brown from walking around barefoot. When we left our room to go to dinner, the foyer door knob came off in my husbands hand. Screws were missing and you could see it was just set back in. There was no staff there to assist. Our room was not inexpensive so was a poor value. Be aware that the in is also located right next to a horse barn for carriage rides and the unpleasant smells of horse manure..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Indigo Inn
#15 of 62 in Charleston
1,049 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Meeting Street Inn
#6 of 39 in Charleston
826 reviews
Jasmine House Inn
#10 of 39 in Charleston
224 reviews
Cannonboro Inn
#15 of 39 in Charleston
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmer's Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmer's Pinckney Inn

Address: 19 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-2005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: £101 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palmer's Pinckney Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located right in the heart of downtown Charleston! Convenient for walking to shopping and dining spots. Pet friendly in 3 of our rooms! 4 rooms with kings size beds and working fireplaces. All private baths, 2 rooms with jacuzzi tubs. Access to kitchen, continental breakfast, refreshments available. Plus, homemade muffins, cookies and other goodies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Palmer's Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer`s Pinckney Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing