We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time In Charleston and We LOVED IT!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
Ranked #6 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First Time In Charleston and We LOVED IT!”
Reviewed 18 May 2009

As lovely and comfortable as The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House is, the best things about this B & B are the owners, Jack and Annelise Simmons. They are the most interesting, gracious and knowledgeable host that we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Their magnificent home has been in Jack’s family for two generations and is located in the most beautiful section of Charleston just steps away from a historic waterfront.
Annelise was kind enough to make our dinner reservations for us to four unbelievable restaurants. We were absolutely delighted with every one of them. Both Jack and Annelise KNOW and LOVE Charleston so well they were able to suggest numerous museums, forts and tours including the incredible Gullah Tour with Alphonso Brown. Every night we looked forward to our social hour on the porch. It’s a time to share your Charleston experiences and more with Jack and Annelise and other quests. We are grateful to Jack and Annelise for sharing their beautiful home and their southern traditions.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    22
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
192
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2009

We spent three wonderful days in Charleston for an anniversary trip and couldn't have been happier with the accommodations. The B&B is in the heart of the historic district on a narrow, quiet street just steps away from the Battery. It's a short walk (fifteen minutes tops) to the Market area and to Waterfront Park, so we seldom had need for our car. Jack and Annalise were gracious hosts, brimming with southern hospitality, and made us feel like friends instead of guests. We loved visiting with them and drinking wine during the social hour on their beautiful, breezy veranda. We stayed in the Cypress Room, a big, comfortable room with a king bed and a private entrance.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGulliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Jack and Anneliese are terrific hosts. They are helpful, friendly and make you feel right at home. Each day they hold a small happy hour where you can catch up on the day, get advice for what to do the next day or get dinner recommendations. The rooms are comfortable and well-kept. They are great at giving you everything you need but at the same time giving you your space if you require it. We had a wonderful time and would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BklynGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House is in a perfect location in historic Charleston just one short block from the Battery. It offers driveway parking, but since cars must be juggled around often we found it easier to park on the street and take our chances. We did so for most of a week and didn't get a ticket.

Our basement room was cool, but dark and gloomy with only dim lighting. Annelise and Dr. Jack, the owners, are both charming and know all there is to know and more about Charleston. They also serve wine and cheese on the piazza at cocktail time for guests which is a lovely idea. Our friends stayed in the rose room which is lovely and also in the carriage house which was too small and cramped for their taste. There is a computer monitor available for guests to use, but our hostess often seemed put out when I used it.

There are four or five choices for breakfast, all excellent.

Our main dissatisfaction was that nobody enters the guest rooms to make them up each morning. What's more, nobody informed us of this lapse and it was not nice to come back after a long day of sightseeing to a rumpled room, damp towels and unmade bed. There are plenty of fresh towels, but guests are expected to fetch them from the hallway and deposit used towels on a nearby chair. Our wastebasket was overflowing until we asked where to empty it.

The public rooms on the ground floor are lovely, but our hostess seemed to use the sitting room for playing bridge which forces guests to go elsewhere. The basically beautiful piazza is grubby and populated with mismatched, although comfortable furniture.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DEngelJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geechie, Owner at 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
It’s always curious when guests select a bed and breakfast experience and then expect services more in line with an expensive commercial five-star establishment. We remember these guests well and generally found them to be delightful. Following is our belated response.

Regarding their concerns about parking, this is a residential district and no commercial parking is available. Unlike some establishments, we do not charge for parking in our yard and there is also plenty of free parking available around the park at the end of the street.

The ground level room has two sets of French doors, three table lamps, and also five overhead 60 watt lights on a dimmer switch. When turned to full power the latter provide 300 watts of illumination giving the sensation of a landing zone. Also, we simply do not understand their problem with the Carriage House. It seems that 1200 square feet would not feel “cramped”.

We try to run our B&B in a more European style. To keep rates as low as possible we do not employ a full time staff and usually inform the guests that we will not enter their rooms unless requested to do so. We are glad to service the rooms when notified. Most of our guests welcome this lack of intrusion and respect for their privacy. Also, to be more “green”, we ask guests to hang, dry, and re-use towels when possible but to feel free to replace them from the linen closet when needed. This saves tremendously on labor, water, and energy use.

The porch is decorated with a vintage antique wicker collection that is kept painted and in good repair. Thus, there is no decorative “theme” whereby it all looks the same.

And finally, regarding “public rooms”, there are none! This is our home which we gladly share with our guests. It is a true owner-occupied bed and breakfast; consequently patrons are exposed to our daily activities such as cooking, cleaning, and using our own living room. The only actual public area is the street. In the future, these guests might be better served at a more commercial establishment such as an inn or a hotel.

Jack & Annelise Simmons
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast
The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
Charleston, SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for a couple days during our trip to Charleston. Jack and Annalise are excellent hosts. They really make you feel comfortable. I loved our southern breakfasts in the diningroom and the happy hour in the evenings on the porch. Jack and Annalise really go out of their way to make sure you feel welcome. Our room was very clean, charming and super spacious. An outstanding place to stay in an outstanding city!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riley72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf Iowa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

This is the most charming B&B located "South of Broad" near Battery Park. The room we stayed in was beautiful with a comfortable bed and it's own bathroom. The B&B is in a wonderful location within walking distance of many great restauraunts and attractions. The walk itself is beautiful as you pass by many historic homes with lovely gardens. The owners are warm and wonderfully laid back. Jack & Annelise, the owners, emailed us information on local restaurants and attractions ahead of time so we were able to plan ahead as reservations during the busy season are a must. One of the benefits of staying in a B&B is meeting other guests and visiting with people you might otherwise never meet. Annelise served wine and cheese each evening where we could gather comfortably and talk about what we did that day. We got great tips from fellow travelers. We were able to really experience the beauty of this charming city with the benefit of "inside information" from Jack & Annelise. This is the best kept secret in Charleston. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambler, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2009

My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a three night stay at 15 Church St. I wanted this anniversary to be special so I did my research and my efforts were well rewarded. This was our first visit to Charleston and we now understand why the Simmons' B&B is so popular! You won't find a better location from which to explore the harbor, the historic area, shopping spots, and area restaurants. Our room (the Blue Room) on the 3rd floor was large, sunny, and provided a beautiful view of nearby rooftops, including the Calhoun Mansion. Jack and Annelise couldn't have been more welcoming. They made us feel like part of the family and their restaurant and tour recommendations made our trip even more memorable. Their 6:00 cocktail hour became a highlight of the day. Breakfast was also a real treat. My favorite entree was the "Hominy Surprise" (a tried and true Simmons family recipe), along with fresh fruit, hot coffee (or tea) and an assortment of breads and sides. The Simmons are warm and gracious hosts. Their home is exquisite. You can't find a better way to experience historic Charleston

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blossomgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Property: 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
Address: 15 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-2743
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now the home of Dr. & Mrs. Jack W. Simmons, Jr., the property was originally owned by Captain Timothy Phillips during the Revolution. The Snowden family constructed the present Greek Revival house in the early 1840's and it served as a hospital during the Civil War during which time it was struck by four cannonballs, two of which are now mounted on the gate posts. It is notable for ironwork by Charleston ironwright, Philip Simmons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House Hotel Charleston
15 Church Street Bed And Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing