We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Simmons are inspirational!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
Ranked #6 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
1 review
“The Simmons are inspirational!”
Reviewed 18 June 2010

15 Church Street Bed and Breakfast is wonderful! I write a blog about how customers should be treated, and Jack and Annelise Simmons have perfected the craft so well that it inspired me to write a blog post about it!

http://info.livelogic.net/customer-intelligence-project-success/bid/45613/Bed-and-Breakfast-Inspiration-for-Customer-Relationship

Yes, a blog posting could be conceived of as a dorky way to communicate a review of a B&B, but I'm a dork. In a nutshell, my review: This bed and breakfast is an example of where the proprietors make the experience. The house: great. The location: great. The breakfast: great. But the hosts and the experience with them? True genius. I'd go so far as to say that I would recommend making sure that you stay with them when you know Jack and Annelise will be in town (though their friend Martha is wonderful, too).

All in all, there is a reason they are so positively reviewed, and my wife and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthDallas40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    22
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
192
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

15 Church St: The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House was simply the best experience we have ever had at a B&B. Now, mind you, in 25 years and many visits to a variety of Bed and Breakfasts across the country we can only remember one bad experience. The rest have only affirmed that B&Bs are the best accommodation choice for us.
The innkeepers at 15 Church St: The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House, Jack and Annelise Simmons, are the personification of hospitality and grace. Their welcome is genuine and warm. Their assistance in making sure their guests experience all Charleston has to offer is top-shelf. The accommodations are wonderful and the breakfasts wholesome, delicious and sufficient. And the fellowship around the breakfast table? Ahh, that's what fellowship should be!
We know where we will stay if ever in Charleston. We also now have a new standard by which every B&B we frequent in the future will be measure.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pastorkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
198 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I would highly recommend this b & b for many reasons: it has the perfect location for touring historic Charleston; is walking distance to many great restaurants; and is only 20 minutes away from some lovely beaches. We stayed in the Rose room for five nights and enjoyed our breakfast each morning. I would highly recommend going to both Sullivan's Island and Folly beaches. (At Folly beach, you can pack a picnic and actually drink alcohol (in a cup) on the beach, whereas at Sullivan's, you have to drink at the fun Poe's Tavern.) A trip to Drayton Plantation was also a highlight as it is the only Charleston plantation that is fully intact and was not burned by Sherman. Dinners at McCrady's and Hominy Grill are also highly recommended.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JPSWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Enjoyed my time here so much. Got to experience true Southern charm in a beautiful home, with a gracious and welcoming couple, in a perfect location to access the multitude of activities in this beautiful, charming city. Truly a wonderful experience that I hope to repeat.

Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MJAYSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

My husband and I couldn't have picked a better way to celebrate our anniversary. Jack and Annelise demonstrate the ultimate in Southern charm, hospitality and graciousness. Their home is 'living' history and they are both fonts of knowledge about everything Charleston: the history and the historic backstories; the best restaurants; the not-to-be missed attractions; and insider tips that made our stay memorable. Book time here and you'll find yourself meeting fasciating folks from all over the world at the breakfast table, and local society during social hour on the piazza.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyandRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This B & B is more than just a very lovely house, it was Jack's childhood home and the warmth of this residence simply pours through every room. I've stayed in many B & B's during my travels and have found that what sets this one apart is the genuine joy Jack, Annelise and Martha (friend and employee), get out of meeting new people and sharing their love of Charleston with all of us. Social hour at 6 PM was a highlight of each day as we and the other guests drank wine, nibbled cheese and shared the doings of the day with our hosts. If we're able to return to Charleston, there's no question of where we'll stay. I'd arrange the dates of any future trip in order to make sure they have a room for us!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

We had a wonderful stay with Jack and Annelise (gotta include Martha as well) at the 15 Church Street B&B in Charleston. It's quite unique to have a B&B owner who grew up in the house he's running. The willingness of our hosts to help us get the most out of our brief visit was outstanding! We could and did easily walk to most of the historic places and restaurants we wanted to see. "Cocktail hours" there were among the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlithyToves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,996 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,797 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,739 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
657 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Property: 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
Address: 15 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-2743
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now the home of Dr. & Mrs. Jack W. Simmons, Jr., the property was originally owned by Captain Timothy Phillips during the Revolution. The Snowden family constructed the present Greek Revival house in the early 1840's and it served as a hospital during the Civil War during which time it was struck by four cannonballs, two of which are now mounted on the gate posts. It is notable for ironwork by Charleston ironwright, Philip Simmons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House Hotel Charleston
15 Church Street Bed And Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing