We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Charleston & we were not disappointed.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
Ranked #5 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Charleston is a beautiful place with outstanding architecture. This is a lovely old historic building with superb rooms. Jack & Annalise are extremely friendly & welcoming couple who were excellent hosts.
We had a wonderful time in Charlseston & would definitely like to return some day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisbudzynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed here in October 2009 (apologies for how long it has taken to write this review!). What a fantastic B&B - we have traveled around the country and this is definitely at the top. It's the personalized care that Jack and Annelise give to their guests that makes this place stand out. Great drinks and conversation in the evenings, and they really go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. It's conveniently located, and they can suggest restaurants, sights etc. Thanks so much, Jack and Annelise.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonneFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Lovely Old town house, with plenty of character, in an area which had a nice feel about it, an exclusivity is the best way I could describe it. We arrived very late and me and my wife smile when we think of a sleepy jack greeting us and almost sleep walking, but still having the time to pull me a pint from his own beer tap before bed. I believe it was the carriage house we stayed in which although basic was very big overall, would be ideal for a family of 4 and excellent value at only $225 a night. Tasty breakfast and the other guests their that morning were the sort of people I would have like to have shared a beer with and got to know better that evening but unfortunatley we had to leave. Annelise and Martha were also very civilised and a delight. Thank you for having us.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Taylorcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Our June stay with Jack and Annelise was absolutely delightful! They both went far beyond the call of duty to make sure our stay was "the best". Charleston is so blessed to have them working in the community~they care so much about Charleston, and help visitors with much needed information. Thank you J and A for wonderful memories, we hope to return soon. The OK, KS, and CA sisters.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
Thank marchmakena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

15 Church Street Bed and Breakfast is wonderful! I write a blog about how customers should be treated, and Jack and Annelise Simmons have perfected the craft so well that it inspired me to write a blog post about it!

http://info.livelogic.net/customer-intelligence-project-success/bid/45613/Bed-and-Breakfast-Inspiration-for-Customer-Relationship

Yes, a blog posting could be conceived of as a dorky way to communicate a review of a B&B, but I'm a dork. In a nutshell, my review: This bed and breakfast is an example of where the proprietors make the experience. The house: great. The location: great. The breakfast: great. But the hosts and the experience with them? True genius. I'd go so far as to say that I would recommend making sure that you stay with them when you know Jack and Annelise will be in town (though their friend Martha is wonderful, too).

All in all, there is a reason they are so positively reviewed, and my wife and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthDallas40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

15 Church St: The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House was simply the best experience we have ever had at a B&B. Now, mind you, in 25 years and many visits to a variety of Bed and Breakfasts across the country we can only remember one bad experience. The rest have only affirmed that B&Bs are the best accommodation choice for us.
The innkeepers at 15 Church St: The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House, Jack and Annelise Simmons, are the personification of hospitality and grace. Their welcome is genuine and warm. Their assistance in making sure their guests experience all Charleston has to offer is top-shelf. The accommodations are wonderful and the breakfasts wholesome, delicious and sufficient. And the fellowship around the breakfast table? Ahh, that's what fellowship should be!
We know where we will stay if ever in Charleston. We also now have a new standard by which every B&B we frequent in the future will be measure.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pastorkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

I would highly recommend this b & b for many reasons: it has the perfect location for touring historic Charleston; is walking distance to many great restaurants; and is only 20 minutes away from some lovely beaches. We stayed in the Rose room for five nights and enjoyed our breakfast each morning. I would highly recommend going to both Sullivan's Island and Folly beaches. (At Folly beach, you can pack a picnic and actually drink alcohol (in a cup) on the beach, whereas at Sullivan's, you have to drink at the fun Poe's Tavern.) A trip to Drayton Plantation was also a highlight as it is the only Charleston plantation that is fully intact and was not burned by Sherman. Dinners at McCrady's and Hominy Grill are also highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank JPSWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,066 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,212 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Address: 15 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Formerly 15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: £159 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now the home of Dr. & Mrs. Jack W. Simmons, Jr., the property was originally owned by Captain Timothy Phillips during the Revolution. The Yates family constructed the present house in the early 1840’s and it served as a hospital during the Civil War during which time it was struck by four cannonballs, two of which are now mounted on the gate posts. It is notable for its Adam style paneling by Thomas Pinckney and ironwork by Charleston ironwright, Philip Simmons, his most recent addition (1998) being the basement gate at the front. The Earthquake of 1886 leveled the 4th story, which was rebuilt with a Mansard roof. Subsequent to this, the structure was reinforced with "earthquake rods", bolts running through the house between the exterior walls. Almost 100 years later, in bringing the structure up to code, this same technology was used with the addition of nine more bolts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
15 Church Street Bed & Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House Hotel Charleston
15 Church Street Bed And Breakfast - Phillips-Yates-Snowden House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing