We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Quality meat”
Review of Oak Steakhouse

Oak Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Oak Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Charlestowne
Cross street: State Street
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Quality meat”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Ordered the 16 oz. Rib Eye @ $49.00 and I can tell you I've had better meat from a supermarket. It was chewey and flavorless. Wife's filet mignon was tough. Should have complained but all the restaurants in the city were jammed and we were just grateful to find an opening to eat.

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnferrarajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    123
    44
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location and exceptional staff.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Oak is a great steakhouse for those looking for one in downtown Charleston. I would suggest the lobster mash potatoes and the Filet! Great wine selection and a very helpful and friendly staff. A little pricy once you get everything you want, but worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyMack2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“My favorite local Spot”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

If you are visiting Charleston or live here, you most certainly must dine at Oak. Not only are the servers and staff the friendliest, they have managed to provide professionalism with a real down to earth feeling. That, paired with exceptionally food quality and culinary expertise and an extensive wine list, it's a no brainer. If you want to get away from the 'tourist trap' steakhouses, definitely go to Oak.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuckyCrickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Steak”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

If you are in the Charleston area and you do not mind spending a little money on dinner, you need to go to Oak Steakhouse. It is a 3 story set up restaurant with plenty of Charleston character. The Bone in Ribeye was amazing, the side dishes were great as well. This is my first time at this restaurant and I will be back next time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton, MI
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by someone we talked to at the Ocean Golf course on Kiawah. We sat on the second floor for our meal and it was charming. There were maybe 8 other tables so it was somewhat quiet but overlooking the first floor, we could see things were hopping. As busy as our servers were, they were terrific to talk to. My husband had surf'n turf and ate everything. I had a petite filet and frittes. Those french fries were the BEST I've ever had and the steak was delicious, also. We had a side of the daily veggies, brussel sprouts and they were yummy and I don't particularly like brussel sprouts. We also ate at Hall's Chop House when we were in Charleston and there's a different ambiance. Oak Steakhouse isn't quite as stuffy but both restaurants are a must.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yooper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oak Steakhouse also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Oak Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing