We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Buisness Meeting Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
Ranked #48 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We hosted two weeks of business meetings in the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River and could not have been happier with the accommodations and service provided by the hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to our admittedly high-maintenance group of professionals. The conference room is nicely designed with a wall of windows to provide natural light, but if you need a dark room for Powerpoint presentations, you can simply pull the curtains closed. Of course, they have all the amenities you need for a good meeting....plenty of power and phone outlets, internet connection, chairs and tables configured to whatever design you request, a publicly available printer, a constant supply of snacks and drinks, and a friendly staff who will assist with whatever miscellaneous needs arise. I've already made reservations for our next Charleston meeting!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McLane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We were so pleased to host your meeting! Thank you for your wonderful review! We look forward to having you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very easy to find, the hotel plenty of parking and is well situated for easy access into the downtown area. The Reception staff were very helpful and friendly as were all the staff we encountered. The breakfast buffet, included in the price, was excellent. A short walk away the free trolley service enabled us to get into the main Charleston shopping area. There is a park nearby and the baseball stadium is within easy reach.

Room Tip: Rooms over the pool can be slightly noisier than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed our location and staff! Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

First checked in and got a FINE view of McDonald's and the trash dumpsters. Asked staff for move, and they were very accommodating. Typical HI Express rooms and breakfast. Good access to the rest of Charleston ... though there is nothing to eat nearby

Room Tip: Ask for Harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your complements to our staff! We are a City/Downtown location with rooms with limited views. We do our absolute best to accommodate all of our guests’ requests. We are located within walking distance to a number of fast food options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Three friends and I booked this hotel for a three night stay over Memorial Day weekend. We paid extra money to have a "river view room with a balcony". When we arrived we discovered that our "river view" was of a parking lot and our "balcony" was a small concrete area that would not even fit one chair let alone four girls. On top of that the door to our "balcony" was broken and would not open, the shower had rust in spots, and we arrived back to our room at night to find hundreds of ants on the nightstand in between our beds.
Also, this hotel advertises a free trolley - describing it as a breezy 5 minute trip to downtown - the trolley runs on limited hours, some nights ending as early as 6:30 pm, and does not come directly to the hotel. It is about a 5 minute stop to the trolley in not the best neighborhood.
We were highly unsatisfied with our stay and switched hotels after one night.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We are disappointed we were unable to meet your expectations. All of our rooms come equipped with a walk out balcony. Rooms with a view are located on the 5th floor and higher on the side of our building facing the river. I apologize you were unhappy and we did our best to make it right for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Avoid this hotel if you want to be close to Downtown Charleston or want a good night's sleep, the location is awful. It's too far to walk to Broad St area where the most beautiful old houses are located and it sits at the intersection of a few busy streets so it's very noisy. We walked back to the hotel once because we were at a restaurant nearby (The Grocery, highly recommend) and it wasn't a pleasant walk at all, I wouldn't do it if it were dark outside. The trolley that takes you downtown is a noisy rickety old thing and it deposits you too far from Charleston's main attractions. If you are out and about exploring beautiful Charleston you can't just drop by for a quick break etc., it's a long shlep back to the hotel.

The rooms are cramped and have the noisiest air conditioner units I have ever seen. They sound like a freight train is actually in your room. First we were given a room on the second floor that was right above their big AC units, so it was very noisy and they moved us one floor up. The bathroom floor in that room wasn't cleaned and had hair all over it; the toilet wasn't cleaned either. We switched rooms the next night after speaking to the manager and she gave us a room on the 6th floor with a slightly more modern AC unit but it was still very noisy. That room had a used towel hanging on the door. Management, if you are reading this, you need to get your housekeeping staff up to so snuff, these kinds of things are unacceptable, even for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheOHtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for providing us feedback from your stay. We are very sorry for the issues you had with housekeeping. They issues you mentioned were already addressed with the staff and I thank you for bringing them to my attention. We are so sorry there was the mix up.

We are not located within walking distance to the Historic District. We are located about a mile and a half or a 5 minute drive. The free town trolley pickup is just minutes from the hotel and will drop you ate the Visitor's Center in the Historic District. We are disappointed you did not find this service convenient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel! It was very comfortable and everyone was very nice but there were definitely a few issues.

Very nice looking when you first enter the lobby.

Our room was tiny but pretty with a big king bed. Bathroom also tiny.

The room did NOT have a mini fridge which I found annoying bc we drove 11 hrs so we had food in a cooler bag with ice packs that really needed to be refrigerated. I felt that was weird that there wasn't a fridge. I feel like most places have them especially for the price.

Anyway. Enough about the fridge!
There were 4 pillows on the bed. 2 labeled soft, 2 labeled firm but they all felt lumpy and soft! I called the front desk and they brought up 2 "firm" pillows. They were better but still not great. I just slept with all 3 and it was fine.

Breakfast was great! Just wish it was until 1030 so we could've slept in a bit and still be able to get breakfast. Coffee all day long which was awesome!

There was a nice outdoor pool. We didn't have much time to take advantage of it and the water is still chilly this time of year but I'm sure it is great in the summer!

One morning one of the housekeepers knocked on our door and woke us up even though we had the do not disturb sign on the door. As I mentioned, we like to sleep in a bit on vacation (it was 9am when she knocked) so that was a little annoying.

The checkout process was quick and easy although I had a terrible time getting a luggage cart! I think they only have 3 of them and every time I went to get one they were all gone! I finally had to stalk someone that was loading their car out front and snag it from them when they were done.

The hotel is not very walkable to downtown. The free trolley stop is very close but they do not run very often or on time. We took a taxi from the hotel to the heart of downtown for $10 flat rate. There is essentially no free parking in Charleston. Parking meters/lots are all $2/hr...not too too bad.

Overall I definitely recommend this as an affordable place to stay in Charleston.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank dana9880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you providing the details of your experience to others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at this property for 4 nights, location is far from perfect, dont get fooled by the fact the hotel is downtown, it'll take you about 25-30 min walk to get to the actual Life of downtown Charlston and half of the way will look like you're walking through a ghetto. Yes, there is a free trolley with complicated route that runs twice and hour but its never on time. The hotel is decent, with recent touch-ups but still dated, there is a dinasaur of an ac unit in the wall that sounds like a jet engine turbine. It is literally impossible to sleep with ac on. The room they gave us was half the size of a typical HI room, not sure if all rooms are like that. Bathroom is also about 1/2 scale. The hotel is right next to the intersection of Highway 17, several main streets and bridges and it is Extremely noisy 24/7. If you can stay for under $ 200 elsewhere within walking distance to downtown I would choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lixonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

We are disappointed you did not enjoy our location. We are a Downtown hotel but not within walking distance of the Historic District. While just a 5 minute drive to the Historic District, we are also very close to MUSC and within walking distance to Joe Riley Stadium. Being on the free trolley route for the City does offer our guests an opportunity to access the Historic District without having to pay the high prices of staying in the heart.

Your feedback of the A/C unit is invaluable. We have been able to take our guest feedback and upgrade our units on an as needed basis to combat the jet engine noise. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
3.2 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 61 in Charleston
262 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area

Address: 250 Spring St, Charleston, SC 29403-5102 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £81 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical area. We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing