We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Ranked #46 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Hotel is in a great location to all the Hospitals and Downtown Charleston, the park across the street has an awesome view. It is never pleasant to stay at a Hotel while your husband goes in for surgery, but the lovely staff was extremely helpful with making my and our service dog Bear as comfortable as possible. The room was clean, the air conditioner worked great and the pool was clean.
I am especially grateful to Mike the Lobby Attendant for helping me out with all my luggage,I always overpack, to the car. Mike is such a positive addition to this Hotel, people like him make a Hotel shine. I truly hope gets the appreciation he deserves and a raise :)
Loved the new decor!

Room Tip: If you want a certain room I would recommend calling the Hotel directly because sometimes when you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We are so happy we were able to make you and Bear feel at home during what can be a very stressful time! You are so kind to recognize Mike! We will make sure to post your comments for all to see what a great job he’s doing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    227
    147
    50
    37
See reviews for
230
238
30
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

After an exhausting day on the road I stopped by the hotel hoping for a room. There was no room at the inn. The Front Desk staff Leila, and Nigina took the time to call late customers to confirm their need for a room. One canceled and the ladies set me up with a room. I was able to relax by walking to see the Charleston Riverdogs play because of their efforts. In the morning the coffee ran out ( full inn) Mike saw my need for caffeine and ran to get more coffee. In less than 30 seconds I had COFFEE.

Great on all accounts for a weary traveler. Thank you!

Room Tip: Pick the one that is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We are so happy we could get you a room! Thank you very much for your wonderful words about our staff! GO RIVERDOGS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed there last night and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay great. From helping us find a place for dinner to carrying our cooler to our car. The only downside was no restaurants in the area. Otherwise we were happy with the room size and comfort.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for the compliments! We would hate for you to visit Charleston and not enjoy what we are most famous for, Southern food and Southern hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
190 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was in good location to explore Charleston. The bathroom was small and only had two towels in it. The biggest problem was the air conditioning. The room never cooled below 72, and the hallways were extremely hot. Several times we found the door out to parking lot and pool propped open, which didn't seem like a very safe thing. Staff was nice and friendly.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsha41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
I apologize for your inconvenience. We were having a new hallway air unit installed that did require the installers to be constantly in and out of the side door. I assure you your next visit, the hallway will be nice and cool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooperstown, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at the HI Express and had a good experience. The room was comfortable and reasonably quiet. Service was friendly. The room rate was good by Charleston standards. Parking was a challenge. We would consider staying here on our next trip to Charleston.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MRM1655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Enjoyed our stay. Friendly and helpful staff; nice-sized, clean rooms with wonderful beds. Bathrooms are small. Main parking lot was usually full but there is additional parking in the secondary area. Although listed as "Downtown", the location doesn't appear to be within what could be considered a reasonable walking distance of the "downtown" area but a city shuttle is available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the 5 Star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I am a tour operator. I escorted a group of 47 people to Charleston. We stayed at this hotel June 2-5, 2014. Hotel was very clean and attractive. Remodeled within the last year or two. It used to be a Best Western. Every worker we encountered at this hotel was friendly and helpful. There are a couple of fast food restaurants very close. Also there is a shuttle bus that stops right by the hotel that will take you downtown very cheaply. The hotel is a little difficult to get into due to one way streets that the GPS does not seem to know about, but after one time you learn the best way to go and that is solved. No worries staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danstours1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
It was great to have you back! Thank you for the wonderful compliments about our staff! We look forward to working with you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#37 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Address: 250 Spring St, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing