We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest/Awesome Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Ranked #45 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Elizabeth, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honest/Awesome Staff”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A HUGE Thank You for the honesty of Alicia in returning money I had accidently left in our room upon departure. It's not often you find individuals in this situation that would have been as honest. Alicia, thank you again, I wish you good Karma!

I also want to thank Rebecca, the General Manager, for her quick follow-up in contacting us and having the items returned to me in a timely manner.

I have nothing but positive memories of our stay at the Charleston Downtown-Ashley River Holiday Inn Express!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments! It was our pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    236
    153
    59
    39
See reviews for
246
246
30
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a nice hotel on the outskirts of town - it's about a mile to the top of King Street and a couple of miles to the oldest part of town at the tip of the peninsular. Fortunately it's easy walking (all flat) and it felt quite safe at night. There's free parking, the breakfast was above average and the room was well furnished, clean and comfortable. The only downside was that it was quite pricey, but then all the hotels we considered in Charleston were expensive and this seemed like the best deal. It probably didn't help that we stayed there over a weekend and there was a fair on in town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
We appreciate your review! We are so happy you enjoyed our city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a great hotel if you want to visit Charleston and want to take your dog. The hotel is very clean, the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and the facilities are very good. The breakfast is perfect, functional and there is plenty of seating. The location is good, a free trolly can get you downtown, and if you want to eat locally there are a couple of very good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FC96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We aim to provide a clean comfortable room and a great breakfast to get your day going! And we love our furry friends as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We booked this hotel through our TA before we left on a cruise out of Charleston. We really weren't expecting anything special We ended up having numerous fun surprises!

We got in early to the hotel- about 12:30. We had requested early check in- NO PROBLEM!!! Nice room. The decor of the Hotel is different- but in a fun 1970's look. I was a nice layout. Our room was fine we didn't have an exciting view- but could see the large bridge that crosses Charleston harbor. The outdoor swimming pool was nice. We enjoyed lounging around the pool several different times.

The front desk was great! We wanted a fun local restaurant for a late lunch. The staff gave several ideas- we settled on a bit of a walk- but ended up in the marina at a place called Salty Mikes. We really enjoyed that and the front desk was correct when they said it will give you a taste of Charleston. Nice waterfront setting and I really enjoyed the shrimp & grits. There are many different places closer by the Holiday Inn, and the front desk was great about giving ideas.

Another thing nice about the location is the numerous old homes in the area. It is a bit residential- BUT that was fine by us. It was fun just to see the different style of homes. There are numerous small stores. We stopped for some beverages to have at the hotel.

My biggest surprised came our next morning when we went for a walk and ran into The Citadel! I didn't realize it was so close by! It was fun to walk around the campus and see the grounds. History/Military buffs of course know what I'm talking about.

We were able to keep our suitcases in a locked room since we didn't want to get to the ship too early. Again the staff said no problem enjoy being around the hotel until you are ready to go. They of course got us a cab when we were ready.

The staff was excellent. The hospitality set the stage for our later stay in Charleston. this was a nice hotel with excellent staff. The staff made the hotel special for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabe63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are extremely happy we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This place is really wonderful. We brought our dog and he was greeted with some dog biscuits, aa welcome letter and complementary waste bags for his walks. Beds are very comfortable (I rarely say that) and so are the pillows. The beds even have functional throws at the foot and not those useless decorative remnants. We also got to watch the fireworks from the baseball stadium right from the comfort of our own comfortable bed! Really great staff as well. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! That's great you enjoyed the fireworks right from your room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My family had a wonderful visit to Charleston, South Carolina and we stayed four nights at the Holiday Inn Express on Ashley River. The manager, Nathan Haumric was great. He has created a great working environment for his employees. They are nice and acknowledge you. They ask if they can assist you and actually do it. Mike was also very nice and pleasant in the lobby assisting us. It was refreshing to visit this location and I will return in the future. Thank you for your attention to details.

Kenneth Dean Collova
304 East Lowry Lane
Lexington, Ky. 40503

Room Tip: Get a room that views the Ashley River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for your great review and great comments about Nathan and Mike! We will be sure to read them aloud in our next employee meeting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeburg, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My daughter was given an unfortunate medical diagnosis. With the diagnosis, she was required to be admitted to MUSC. She was in the hospital for an extended amount of time. Fortunately, Holiday Inn Express downtown, was one of the hotels that offered a reduced rate for persons that had a family member in the hospital. The hotel was very clean and the continental breakfast really came in handy and was really tasty and filling. The rooms were clean and had refrigerator and microwave in the room that made it convenient to bring in food after leaving the hospital. The staff there was very accommodating, especially Carolyn, Mike and Elaine. It is good to know that the front desk staff is very understanding of the situation that a person must be going through. All were pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nilahsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to recognize our property and our great staff! We are happy to be there in such a difficult time. We all send our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.2 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Address: 250 Spring St, Lockwood Drive, Charleston, SC 29403-5102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River.We are perfectly located adjacent to the Medical University of South Carolina and in close proximity to Charleston's Historic District. This new Holiday Inn Express features views of the Ashley River, a beautiful outdoor pool, Express Start hot breakfast and free high-speed wireless Internet. We are also just down the street from Brittlebank Park with its state-of-the-art playground and fishing pier and within walking distance to Joe Riley Baseball Field, home of the Charleston Riverdogs. Plus, we are convenient to the Charleston area's many historic plantations, golf courses, and pristine beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charleston
Charleston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing