We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Raving About L&L after 2 Years”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lavender and Lace Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at Lavender and Lace in late Oct./early Nov. 2011 for 3 nites and we're still raving about what a great place it is! We stayed in the Front Garden Suite. The large bedroom and large living room were great for accomodating all of our luggage for a 5 week road trip. Decor was lovely, as was the garden and the hostess. Breakfast, fresh fruit, and cookies were plentiful for folks like us who want to eat and run to get to see Charleston. Extremely quiet street, and suite was also quiet--we never heard other guests. Stackable washer & dryer made it possible to wash a load in the a.m. and dry it when we got home. That was a nice little extra. The biggest plus was the hostess, Judy. She recommended that before we went to see anything else, we first take a walking tour of Charleston. SUPER suggestion!! Being that we were right IN the historic district of Charleston--South Of Broad--we could walk right to the walking tour. Taking the tour helped us decide which homes we wanted to return to for a tour in the afternoon. Judy suggested Fast and French for lunch and it was great. She told us about good restaurants and had a book of information on eating establishments when we arrived. She also warned us about a place to avoid due to low quality seafood and some restaurant guests who had become ill from it. That's a good thing to know, too. Judy showed us on a map of the city which free trolleys to take to get to Fort Sumter. She loves Charleston and is a wealth of information. Her B&B is lovely and she made Charleston a wonderful place for us to visit with all of her help! (addition from husband: most of the time a stay at a B&B means a very nice room with a bath, with breakfast in a common area of the house. At L&L, our 'room' was really an apartment, with a large bedroom, bathroom, front room, and kitchen with dining nook, making it a great deal for the money)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Lavender and Lace Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

L&L is in a great location in the heart of the historic district. Our room was nice ... very clean, well furnished and spacious.

Parking is very tight, and breakfast is unusual for a B&B. I believe there is no space for a dining room so breakfast was delivered to our refrigerator each afternoon. We cooked it in the microwave each morning. It was fine.

We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

On April 27, 2013, my two sisters-in-law, my mother and I went to spend 4 days of bliss in the Front Garden Room. It was much more than a room. We walked into a walled entry way that lead to a very comfortable living room, kitchen, LARGE bedroom and bathroom. You have your own private entrance The "apartment" was very clean, beautifully decorated and so comfortable I wanted to live there. It has been a dream of ours to visit one of the houses in Charleston and our dream came true. It was a good walk to town, and that was ok so we could walk off all the goodies that Judy left for us each day. We raced back each day to see what was awaiting us and were never disappointed. Judi was extemely helpful to us in pointing out places to see and good restaurants. I will return as often as I can, but the only concern I have will be it being booked once word gets out about how wonderful it is. Thank you Judy for making our stay extra special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We loved staying here! It was like living in a comfy, cozy, tree-house--beautiful trees all around and in the heart of the Historic District! We walked and biked to everything--so close to the Battery. Very quiet and peaceful in a beautiful neighborhood where the carriages drove by. We stayed in the Carriage House and had everything we needed. The owner is very attentive and helpful and brings soo many treats/breakfast daily. We could walk the neighborhood at night and enjoy seeing the historic homes lighted up. We definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fran V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This was just like staying in our own house! We stayed in the carriage house: 2 stories with bedrooom, bath and pourch upstairs, living room, kitchen downstairs. Felt like we lived there...although South of Broad is much nicer than where we really live. Judy Brown does a great job getting you acquainted and spoiling you with breakfast. If you're lucky enough to be in Charleston, stay here and be even luckier.

Room Tip: The Carriage House has the added benefit of a deck which is a great place for a drink and a cigar af...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank CobblerRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay in the Front Garden Room here! We felt like we lived in this lovely neighborhood south of Broad and loved walking in the area both daytime and at night (gorgeous with Christmas lights and decorations plus the historical looking gas lamps that so many homes have.) The room, actually a suite of rooms with living room, dining area, full kitchen...even a washer/dryer, separate bedroom and bath, was so spacious and perfect for a longer, self-catering stay. It is so well equipped. Judy, the owner, has thought of everything you could possibly need and provided them. Perfect location to enjoy historical Charleston!

Room Tip: The Front Garden Room is on the front, lower level of the house. It was quiet and cozy even though i...
Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank BK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Absolutely superb B&B within easy walking distance to historic Charleston. The free parking and wifi are an added bonus. Our garden room was spacious, spotless and wanted for nothin. The little kitchenette area was well stocked with our breakfast each day, with ample tea and coffee to make as and when you wanted it. In fact, the breakfast was huge and saw us through to dinner each evening. Judy was MOST helpful with suggestions for visits, trips and dining out. She also recommend a walking tour - Ed Grimball - who was fantastic.
The B&B was one of the highlights of our road trip (down to Key West) and we would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yorkspuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,065 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,876 reviews
Downtown
John Rutledge House Inn
John Rutledge House Inn
#4 of 61 in Charleston
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
479 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender and Lace Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender and Lace Bed and Breakfast

Address: 136 Tradd St, Charleston, SC 29401-2418
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: £73 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and be pampered. Welcome to this grand 1870's Victorian painted lady that has been lovingly restored to create the inviting ambience of past splendor and elegance. Fresh baked cookies and pastries abound. Located on a quite residential street in the heart of the Charleston Historic District. At the end of the day come home and relax in antique filled rooms or try our two story carriage house. Private baths and off street parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender And Lace b&b
Lavender And Lace Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing